Kentucky Style Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
It was hard getting bacon grease so I used coconut oil and this may be why it was hard to get the picture-perfect ones shown. I also used some of the suggestions and it tastes good,(no salt?).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
These are very good. I always use Tomatoes that are just turning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tyra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I customized this great Southern recipe to make it gluten free using gluten free Bisquick instead of all-purpose flour and it worked beautifully! Made flavorful, crispy fried green tomatoes. And yes, I agree you MUST use bacon grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sallie Tierney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Great recipe. You can stretch the bacon grease with a little lard if you don't have enough. I always use sugar, sprinkling a bit on before the dredging in the flour. My dad loved these- he ate them as a child in 1910! Fond thought s of him when I eat these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This recipe is fast easy and fabuloso!!!!! And really, a must to use bacon grease and I'm not even a Southerner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Native Alabamian and definitely agreement to fry in Bacon Grease, which every self respecting Southern cook has in a silver can in her fridge. Here are my few changes. I do cut them a wee bit thicker. I soak them in buttermilk. I add some panko bread crumbs to the coating mix for extra crunch and mix some Red Robin seasoning into the mix or any kind of Seasoning salt mix. Yummo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
I thought this recipe was lacking something. I think I will try something different next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
THE TRUE SOUTHERN WAY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANGEL1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Yummy! I did add some Tony's seasoning after cooking as I found them a touch bland and then they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambibambi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
A really good recipe. I love the flavor the bacon grease gives the tomatoes. I did add a few seasoning to my cornmeal/flour mixture that were not listed but overall a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States