Kentucky Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This was the first pecan pie I ever made. I made it as a tester for me and hubby the day before Thanksgiving. It was amazing and gone by turkey day breakfast. The last piece of pecan pie I had before this was from Goode Company and it is hands down the best pecan pie I ever had! This was not quite Goode company but it was dang close with it's buttery deliciousness. However, because my last comparison was so dang good I struggled with giving this a 4 or a 5. I decided I would wait and rate it until after Thanksgiving day dinner at my inlaws so I could compare. As you see, I gave it a 5. My mother in law makes a dang good pecan pie and this one was better ....sssshhhh :) Mine set just fine. I covered the entire thing with folil for the first 30 minutes and left it uncovered for the rest. I had no problems with the crust or pecans burning. I also used the chrisco pie crust recipe which was super easy and was a nice contrast to the super sweet buttery pie filling. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This was my jumping off recipe for a chocolate pecan pie. I'm basing my review for my additions. However, I can't imagine that it wouldn't be grand as it is written. I sprinkled the bottom of the deep dish crust, (unbaked), with semi-sweet chocolate chips. Instead of a full cup of light corn syrup I used 1/2 cup of light corn syrup and 1/2 cup of Lyle's Golden Cane Syrup, and added 2 tsp. of vanilla. It gave the pie a wonderful caramel taste. I did have to bake about 1 1/2, but I tented the pie with aluminum foil so the top wouldn't burn. It was absolutely what I was looking for, and it will be my go-to recipe in the future. Thanks for letting me experiment with your wonderful recipe, Laurie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenreanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, Maryland, USA
Living In: Anthem, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Great and easy to make. it was a family hit. I added 1/4 cup of clover honey and reduced the corn syrup by that amount. Added vanilla bean wow what flavor...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamtramck, Michigan, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I have been makeing this recipe for over 30 years. I have tried other pecan pie recipes but always go back to this one when I want the best or want to impress someone. I have sold these pies at Christmas and Thanksgiving for several years and have return customers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This is the only pecan pie recipe I have ever used but it is amazing! I have made this several times and even gave them out as Christmas presents last year, everyone loves it. It is very tasty and easy to make. You might want to cook it a little longer just so it is not runny inside, depending on your oven but it taste great either way. Just be sure not to burn the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinqueen86

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
This was my first time making any kind of pie. It was simple and a crowd winner! After reading the reviews I chose to cover the edge of the crust with foil for all but the last 15 minutes of baking time. I also used 4 eggs instead of 3. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This was my first time making pecan pie, I didn't know it was so easy. I did use half dark corn syrup and half light, but other than that I followed it exactly, came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
I made this in a graham cracker crust instead of the regular pastry style crust. It was quite good! I also added a 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and 2 tbsp coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I make this pie each year at the holidays as it is my husbands favorite - in fact- this was the first recipe I ever used from the allrecipes site! I use a store bought refrigerated pie crust and always use extra pecans (at least 1.5 cups!) You need to bake for the full 60 minutes to get the perfect consistency. You will also need to cover the edges of your crust to keep from over-browning (I remove the foil about 40 minutes into cook time). As others have suggested, I recently added a dash of vanilla to the mix- yummy! I don’t bake very much and this is SO easy! This is a staple pie in our house during the holidays – rich, decadent, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoupLOVA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
the center did not set at all , i followed directions but still ended up with a puddle of goo in the center , i never made pecan pie so wasnt sure how it would look while cooking it , maybe it needed cooked longer than recipe called for or maybe it should have been put in the fridge , dont know but it was probably something i did wrong because this recipe got great reviews ...maybe i'll try again and cook it a little longer than put it in the fridge
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States