Kentucky Hot Brown Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 18, 2007
I made a half recipe of this for two of us, and I think that next time, I'll save half for leftovers. It was really good, but really heavy and filling. I cut back on the turkey, and I think it still had plenty. One piece would be more than enough for me, along with a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food4me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
This recipe turned out great! Tasted just like the version served at one of my favorite restaraunts - a quick and easy crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
Really tasty -- if you like rich food smothered in cheesy gravy! Good with a side salad and not much else. Will probably try the bread cubed and layered in a casserole next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wildwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
Well...this was different. It as not gross, but it wasn't wonderful. I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
This dish is VERY similiar to one you can find served at a wonderful restaurant in the Atlanta area called Chick-A-Fil. Only their's uses chicken breast instead of turkey. DELICIOUS!!! I now live in the Southern California area, so I was very pleased to find this recipe. I never even thought of using turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
I love kentucky hot browns, moved to kentucky 9yrs ago,was introduced to this delicious sandwich at one of the wonderful state park dining lodges, thick slices of ham along with the turkey we're in mine, also cheddar cheese on top put under the broiler for a minute added to the yummy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
the original recipe calls for a little cream to be added and doesn't have mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by notlikeyourmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
My dear friend was born and raised in Kentucky. She has never gotten used to what she deems "odd tasting northern food." Maybe this is that thinking in reverse. To me this was so much work for a sandwich and the combination of the hot sauce, turkey, tomatoes and bacon just did not work for me. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
Quick, easy, yummy and passed the 11 year old taste test.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolate_frenzie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
As a Kentuckian, I've eaten many a Hot Brown. This is my first attempt to make one at home, and we really enjoyed it. Quick and easy. I did cut back on the bread, broke the toast in pieces, used diced tomatoes, crumbled the bacon, and made it casserole style. My husband said he'd never cared much for Hot Browns, but really like this version. We'll definitely use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Oven broiled salmon fillets with sweet Dijon mustard sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States