Kentucky Hot Brown Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
Kentucky lady approved! Here in Kentucky, we eat this often. It is great for holiday leftovers or you could get some turkey sliced thick from the deli. Either way, it is delicious. Also, if you have ham, sometimes we throw them both in. This recipe was on target, but I must say I have never had it with mushrooms, so I did not include them when I made this recipe. The cheese sauce was good, but I will add that you don't necessarily have to use parmesan cheese. Here in Kentucky, we use whatever we have on hand. Suprisingly, Velveeta works great in this recipe. However, if you use Velveeta, don't tell anyone because it cuts down on the classiness of the dish. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
Yum! I haven't had this in years and was so happy to find it here. I did revise a little to make it how I was familiar with it. Instead of individual sandwiches I made it into a casserole by layering the bread, turkey, sauce, bacon, tomato, more sauce and finally some parmesean cheese. The bread was a little soggy so next time I will toast it more before and I didn't add mushrooms, I can't stand them. Oh yeah, I added about 1/2 c. of cheddar to the sauce as well. Thanks again for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
As a Kentuckian, I've eaten many a Hot Brown. This is my first attempt to make one at home, and we really enjoyed it. Quick and easy. I did cut back on the bread, broke the toast in pieces, used diced tomatoes, crumbled the bacon, and made it casserole style. My husband said he'd never cared much for Hot Browns, but really like this version. We'll definitely use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
This was my favorite lunch @ The Brown Hotel in Louisville when I lived there in the '60's. I remember it with a Chedder Sauce, so that is the way I made it. I also remember the tomato was brioled with olive oil, basil and parmesan cheese and served on the side at the Hotel...this was my favorite 'after turkey day' meal for years. My Grandaughter called and asked me what the left over turkey sandwich was with the cheese and bacon on top...She wanted to make it. This is a great dish...impressive, too,from leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2002
We loved this dish!! I used cheddar cheese rather than parmesan for the sauce, and I omitted the egg, and then topped each sandwich with shredded mozzarella before placing under the broiler and they were GREAT!! My husband absolutely LOVED them and he is incredibly picky about his food. This will be made again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
the original recipe calls for a little cream to be added and doesn't have mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by notlikeyourmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Well, I've never made or even had a Kentucky Hot Brown before, but because it looked intriguing, I've had this in my recipe box for quite awhile and just kept forgetting about it. Last night I watched Bobby Flay's "Throw Down" show and was immediately reminded. As a matter of fact "Downalong", the Brown Hotel you referred to in your review was Bobby's challenge. Although I took one tip from Bobby which was to do the bread French toast style and the hotel boys cheddar sauce, I followed your recipe to a "T". I knew my girls would love this dish, but I wasn't quite as sure about hubby as he's not so into the whole cheese sauce thing. Kristie, I'm so thrilled to tell you that hubs absolutely LOVED your recipe!! I think it's so cool serving a dish that one of our States and/or Countries around the world are so famous for. Thanks Kristie for allowing the rest of us a taste of the Derby!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
The first time I made this, it became an instant family classic! Use a sturdy bread like sour dough, otherwise the sauce could make the bread soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harleysville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
As a native of the Derby city, I believe this is a very a good Hot Brown recipe. I recently made this and it was fantastic. Make sure to use a nice thick cut bread so that it doesn't become overly soggy. I also used this sauce plus some frozen chopped onions and a handful of crumbled bacon to make creamed peas when I needed last minute side dish one day. It was very quick and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
This is absolutley out of this world! I gave the recipe to one of our daughters ( the other doesn't cook), and our daughter-in-law. I had it last night and man 0 man talk about licking the plater clean!!!!!!!!! Didn't have fresh mushrooms, used canned, worked great. Can't wait to try other left over meats. Thanks so very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States