Kentucky Hot Brown Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
My husband liked this more than I did hence the four stars. Had never made a hot brown before and our only other experience with them was bad school cafeteria food. I cannot see making this again. I thought the cheese sauce was too gravy like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2004
here in pittsburgh the hot brown is a close kin to our devonshire sandwich. it has almost the same ingredients (except mushrooms) & process however we make a cheddar cheese sauce seasoned with a healthy shake of ground cayenne pepper. i used thick cut sourdough bread for our hot browns although any hearty loaf will do. this type of meal is delicious & nurtures the soul. thanks kristie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
We LOVED this, kids and all. I did do as suggested and threw it all in a 11x14 dish and made it casserole style. It sure made things easier. Next time I make it I will just try making the gravy with the bacon drippings instead of butter, thats the kind of gravy I grew up on. Husband said keep this recipe out and make it twice a month, indefinately!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BZBMOMOF3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2004
Delicious sandwich! The adults liked the tomato and mushroom combination, and the kids loved the sandwich without. My picky 6 year old son raved about it and asked me to put it in our family recipe box (reserved only for the best recipes!) Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2004
Everytime I make turkey this is always the next meal because everyone loves these sandwiches so much! I cannot tell you how many times I have been asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2004
Excellent! I even used packaged turkey breast, and still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
This is absolutley out of this world! I gave the recipe to one of our daughters ( the other doesn't cook), and our daughter-in-law. I had it last night and man 0 man talk about licking the plater clean!!!!!!!!! Didn't have fresh mushrooms, used canned, worked great. Can't wait to try other left over meats. Thanks so very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
We loved it. I sauteed onions with the mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOODLESTEACHES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
This recipe kicks! I had some leftover, thinly sliced ham and did both turkey and ham together. Talk about Southern Comfort...WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
This was my favorite lunch @ The Brown Hotel in Louisville when I lived there in the '60's. I remember it with a Chedder Sauce, so that is the way I made it. I also remember the tomato was brioled with olive oil, basil and parmesan cheese and served on the side at the Hotel...this was my favorite 'after turkey day' meal for years. My Grandaughter called and asked me what the left over turkey sandwich was with the cheese and bacon on top...She wanted to make it. This is a great dish...impressive, too,from leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States