Kentucky Hot Brown Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I made a turkey on the grill last sunday and was wondering what to make with the leftovers. Wow, I am glad I came across this. I didn't have any tomatoes on hand, so I used a can of Rotel diced tomatoes with green chiles. Gave it some zip. Wifey is not too fond of tomatoes, but she enjoyed this dish. In my recipe box for good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi'sHunny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Living In: Red Lion, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Really good! Made for a KY Derby party and everyone loved it. Do make sure you toast the bread well, or it will get soggy. Three stars because it was very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
minus the mushrooms due to personel preference, and using a sturdy thick bread that has been toasted this recipe is very good. serve it with the strawberry spinach salad 1 from this sight, read reviews, the kentucky derby pie known as run for the roses pie 3 on this site, you will have a wonderful kentucky derby dinner. instead of individual plates, i make them in 9x13 glass casserole dish. don't forget the mint juleps. all are easy, but yet you will have an elegent dinner to impress your dinner guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Not at all what I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULI42298

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I've eaten Hot Brown's in many a Kentucky restaurant and in many ways. This one is pretty darn good... not the absolute best, but nowhere near the worst. My favorite is when it's made as a 'sandwich'. However, a KHB (Kentucky Hot Brown) really isn't a sandwich. To me, it's more of an entree. It just tastes better when it is assembled right before you're ready to eat it and popped under the broiled to brown the cheese a bit. However, every Kentucky State Park Lodge restaurant I've been in serves it on their buffets casserole style and it is very tasty... although not real appealing to the eye. Also, most places I've eaten it, served it with a peach half. Although it's not necessary... it just adds a bit of whimsy and lightness to a pretty rich meal. We love our Hot Browns...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suchaprincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
We did all but the mushrooms and the bacon. Wow! Really good. Messy to eat but nobody seemed to mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Wow. If I could give this 20 stars I would! I had tons of leftover lunch meat from our Halloween party. I used up all of the turkey and substituted the bacon this recipe calls for with a small piece of honey ham. AWESOME! Everyone loved it and fought for the leftovers! thanks so much for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefsazy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This recipe was good but is way way more than 4 servings! In the future I will cut it in half for my family of four. It is a great way to use up leftover turkey though. I was too lazy to thaw the bacon for frying so I substituted it with sliced ham which was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by busymommy
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I had fun with this. After I made this for my family, (and we all liked it) I got curious and looked up the history of the sandwich...Very interesting!! I omitted the mushrooms to make the kids happy. This was really different and not really at all what I was expecting, but good nonetheless. I would make sure your toast is on the over-toasted end of the spectrum because there is a lot to soften it up. Mine came out perfectly and I cooked the toast much drier than I would normally prefer. A very good comfort food on a rainy fall day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
We had some leftover smoked chicken and I had been wanting to make this. We found it bland the first day but the flavors seemed to meld by lunch the next day. Unfortunately by then the bread was very soggy. Hubby tried it with a sprinkling of cayenne and liked the bit of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Oven broiled salmon fillets with sweet Dijon mustard sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States