Kentucky Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Good taste but not my favorite would be hard to cut if you are making a specialty cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I thought it was good, but my guys just didn't go for it so it just sat there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alvin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
It was a hit with my family Thanksgiving, we made strawberry short cake out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lajuana

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Super moist and buttery. Good to the last crumb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
A great cake! It's simplistic yet delicious. The texture and moistness improves the next day so I always make it the night before. I pour 1 tablespoon of vinegar into a one-cup measure and fill the rest with milk in place of the buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This cake was so rich. I really did not get a chance to really taste it but I am surely going to make it again. I took it to agathering but I had some trouble getting it out of the pan ( a little impatient) so the presentation was not very good. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet2th

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manteca, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
YUM! Being someone that loves to bake I reverted to the old fashioned baking trends and creamed my butter and sugar. I then added one egg at a time blending after each. I combined all the dry ingredients and added it to the batter alternating with the buttermilk, beginning and ending with the dry ingredients. I have to say this cake isn’t much to look at but the taste and moistness make up for that. Next time I might try using a tube pan as the top before inverting this cake had a beautiful golden butter split. Not sure how I’m going to do the glaze but I hate to lose the beautiful top, I’ll let you know what I come up with. Again YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Not as moist as most Butter Cake recipes. Easy to make, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Timonium, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This is basically a poundcake with a buttery glaze. I used cake flour & it made my cake have a much lighter & finer crumb than if I had used all purpose. I also sifted all of my dry ingredients before putting them in the mixing bowl (but I didn't sift the sugrar). I think sifting really helps create a soft & fluffy texture. I think it could use a little bigger splash of vanilla or maybe even a vanilla bean but otherwise, this is a great and simple recipe. I DID follow the odd instructions that tell you to place all the dry ingredients in a bowl and THEN add the buttermilk, butter, eggs & vanilla. That is a really strange process for a cake but ya know, it worked well. I don't think it would have worked well if my butter had not been super soft so make sure your butter is very soft. I put my butter in the microwave on defrost. I made my cake in mini bundt pans. They turned out so cute and moist and make a perfect individual dessert. The glaze is buttery and delicious but I'm sure this cake would be great with a berry sauce on top. So for a really basic, easy, delicious pound cake - this is a great recipe to try. Make sure to keep your oven on the low temp suggested in the recipe - 325 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nilla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 723) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States