Kentucky Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This cake was moist and delicious. My husband says this is "THE cake". No other cake should be made besides this one EVER! I followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect! I will be doubling the sauce next time though, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Southington, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This is the second time I am making this recipe. The first time I made it with the butter icing. Today I omitted the icing and added one cup of coconut to the batter. Both times the cake came out moist and delicious. This is an easy, quick cake to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Absolutely divine!!! I couldn't wait for it to completely cool and ate it slightly warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
ABSOLUTELY delish!!!!!!! I sorta messed up the prep directions.. cause i creamed the sugar and butter for like 7 mins.. and then realised that those weren't the instructions.. So then i sorta just added everything else.. and last the eggs one at a time beating btwn each addition. The cake was lovely. I also did reduce the sugar for my family's own tastes.. and added just a tiny dash of cinnamon.. as per my D.I.L's request. It was light, with a nice soft, fine crumb.. will def make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodie Shillingford Trew

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
good flavor, and pretty easy to make. I wasn't blown away by it, but still a very serviceable cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Downey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This was AMAZING!!! No need to change the recipe at all!! I am a food blogger and will def be sharing! Absolutely delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAM's Mommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
So delicious! It gets even better with time. Now when I want to serve this I plan a couple days ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This is EXCELLENT! Buttery, moist, sweet, rich and fattening, but excellent! Made exactly as written. I had no trouble getting it out of the pan so not sure why others did. Definitely something I wouldn't make on a regular basis, but delicious just the same!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAG'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Delicious, moist -- best made with buttermilk but vinegar/milk substitute suggested elsewhere works well enough. I always replace the water in the butter sauce with Irish whiskey. Rum or bourbon would also be good here. I've also sometimes replaced half of the white sugar with light brown sugar, and that's good, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boxplayer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I made this cake for the first time last night and their is only about an eighth of it left. This is an amazing cake without any need for adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 702) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States