Kentucky Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
I made this last night for a small group meeting, and it was the star of the evening. Everyone loved it--eating seconds and taking pieces home. It is very rich and moist. An excellent cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, New York, USA
Living In: East Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I made this (without the topping) as the cake part of a Boston Cream Pie. I was worried about the recipe because of the very strange method (mix all dry ingredients and then add wet??) and the incorrect chemistry - buttermilk requires baking soda to rise properly, there shouldn't be any baking powder in this recipe. But the reviews were all very good so I used the normal cake method (cream butter and sugar, add eggs, add buttermilk, add dry) and tried it. The flavour is excellent, but the cake was a bit on the dry side. I made 3 9-inch rounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kle_sam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Willowdale, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I have never had to get a cake "out of the house" but this is it! Soooo good I literally would have eaten the whole thing if it stayed. Gonna make it again tomorrow :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marci Martin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This cake was moist and delicious. My husband says this is "THE cake". No other cake should be made besides this one EVER! I followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect! I will be doubling the sauce next time though, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Southington, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This is the second time I am making this recipe. The first time I made it with the butter icing. Today I omitted the icing and added one cup of coconut to the batter. Both times the cake came out moist and delicious. This is an easy, quick cake to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Absolutely divine!!! I couldn't wait for it to completely cool and ate it slightly warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
ABSOLUTELY delish!!!!!!! I sorta messed up the prep directions.. cause i creamed the sugar and butter for like 7 mins.. and then realised that those weren't the instructions.. So then i sorta just added everything else.. and last the eggs one at a time beating btwn each addition. The cake was lovely. I also did reduce the sugar for my family's own tastes.. and added just a tiny dash of cinnamon.. as per my D.I.L's request. It was light, with a nice soft, fine crumb.. will def make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodie Shillingford Trew

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
good flavor, and pretty easy to make. I wasn't blown away by it, but still a very serviceable cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Downey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This was AMAZING!!! No need to change the recipe at all!! I am a food blogger and will def be sharing! Absolutely delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAM's Mommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
So delicious! It gets even better with time. Now when I want to serve this I plan a couple days ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 685) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States