Kentucky Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Paula Deen ain't got nothing on this buttah cake! So delicious and rich. I used Brandy extract in the butter sauce and it was divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This is a very rich cake, but so so good. I didn't have a bundt pan so I used a 9 by 13 cake pan and I was very pleased with the end results. I think I can cut back on that butter sauce a bit when I make this for my family (I did love it but I try to cut back on the butter where i can), but I will be taking the suggestion of other reviewers and trying it with rum extract. Thanks for this recipe, its a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I was very excited about this cake but concerned when my batter was thick almost like bread dough and was browning after 45 minutes bake time. I ended up making extra sauce since I couldn't tell if it was moist enough while still in pan. Made it Sat afternoon for a Sunday lunch and it just didn't turn out as I expected.... I will probably make my own changes to make this one better next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I have been making this cake for several years now, and it's ALWAYS a hit. So moist, buttery and rich! I have my guests waiting by the oven door when I make this. We love it! My family has renamed it the "butt" cake, since it goes straight to your hips :-). Since they request it all the time, it must be worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
This Cake is the best! I have made it multiple times and it bakes perfectly everytime, even at altitude! I bake a lot but when ever I ask my boyfriend what he likes best he always says this cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I added a tsp. almond extract and a tsp. lemon extract to the batter. I also baked it a dark non-stick bundt pan with Baker's Joy and it slid right out. Then, after it cooled I glazed it with equal parts powdered sugar and milk with another tsp. of almond extract and topped it all off with slivered almonds. So much better than the stuff at the grocery store bakeries! And it made my house smell divine. I will make this again and again. I might try adding poppy seeds and making them into over-sized muffins next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karibdavis13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I have had this recipe saved for a long while, but only just got around to trying it out, today. I have to say it was really good. Definitely something I'll be making again. I did substitute yogurt for the buttermilk, as I had no buttermilk. It worked just fine, and still tasted delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by phythia79
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
UPDATE: I made this for my son's birthday and used buttercream icing to make it look pretty. It was a hit! I'll be doing anohter cake for my MIL tmrw but just plain and with the butter sauce. OH WOW!!!! Baked it yesterday for hubby (in conjuction with Father's Day here in Malaysia). It was absolutely yummy!!! Even the butter sauce..though i should have made extra and poked bigger holes so that the sauce can seep in. I baked in a normal square pan as I didn't have a bundt pan on hand..did the same amount of batter, temp and time. absolutely heaven! Will definitely make this again for my son's birthday next month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phythia79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Second time making this in a week for two separate birthdays. Everyone loved it. I didnt change anything about the cake. I did use fresh strawberries and made a strawberry sauce and homemade coolwhip to have on the side. yummmy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Millersville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
best cake ever i love it its really tastey i make it all the time for birthdays and other speical events.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 698) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States