Kentucky Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Made today. Delicious - the family LOVED it. I think next time I will make this without the butter sauce. Cake is delicious on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Great cake overall, lousy directions. Make it the same way you would any other cake: mix all dry ingredients together and set aside. Cream butter and sugar together, add eggs and vanilla, mix thoroughly. Alternate adding dry ingredients with wet, starting and finishing with dry. I didn't wait til it cooled to cut into it as we had it with ice cream but if you want a perfectly presented cake, definitely wait before unmolding. Great taste and easy if you make it the traditional way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Cannot figure out the rave reviews for this one. Cake was moist, but flavor was nothing special. The sugar sauce had an odd flavor. Cake did stick terribly to the pan, too! Next time, I'll make a regular pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
This cake was absolutely fantastic! It was one of the easiest cakes I ever made yet the flavor and texture was outstanding. I followed the recipe to the tee. My personal suggestion is to make the cake the day before. The flavor seemed to develop even more the day after I baked it. I would also make an extra recipe of the butter sauce and use it in and on top of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Trevor, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I just love finding recipes that become new must have traditions and this one certainly hits that mark! I made it as it was written and it was absolutely perfect. Thanks so much for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Absolutely delicious! Very moist!! Wouldnt change a thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bettycrockertammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
This cake is a bit sweet, but tastes really good. I had to have a piece while it was still warm, all I can say is yummmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Nice yellow butter cake. made pretty much according to the recipe, used a chopstick to poke holes in cake just after it came out of the oven and doused with sauce, which was promptly soaked up. Had no problem getting it out of greased/floured pan, after cooling in the pan for about an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Way too dense!! Ok flavor but not as good as I thought it would be. If I ever decide to make it again, I will use cake flour which I hope will make for a lighter cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nancyjane
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This cake has been in our family for years and its always delicious.I was looking for a bee hive recipe and all recipes came up with this reminding me of its goodness. Thanks for posting Suzanne.It made a beautiful bee hive cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancyjane

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stamford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 721) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States