Kentucky Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Recently making this cake and I used almond extract instead of vanilla and I also used half butter and half blue bonnet in the cake. I also used the milk and vinegar method instead of buttermilk because I was craving a good cake but didn't feel like leaving the house. As for the sauce, I used brown sugar instead and added cinnamon and I am so anxious to see how this turns out!! It's smelling good :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliyah Ware

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
This was really good. I do have to admit I made a minor change. First, I did like some others, I creamed the butter and sugar first before adding the other ingredients. And instead of vanilla in the batter, I used 1.5 tsp almond extract, but used the vanilla in the sauce. And I only made half the sauce, which was perfect. However, I think next time I will make the full recipe of sauce, and once I turn the cake over, will pour some on the other side. My sauce didn't soak thru, so only the "bottom" had the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Just made this tonight and it's absolutely delicious! I would suggest creaming the butter and sugar, then adding the other wet ingredients and the dry ingredients last. It's very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Great easy recipe. I grated some fresh lemon zest and added it to my recipe with a lil nutmeg, talk about flavor. Using buttermilk is such a great addition great flavor love it. Wonderful cake to serve during ramadan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Great! This cake was wonderful! Went by the recipe as written. Have made three of these. Love it, love it! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
This cake was delicious to say the least! So moist and buttery! I didn't even put all of the butter sauce inside, it might have been too sweet for my liking. Instead I drizzled a good amount on top and still had tons left. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
mine fell but it was still DELICIOUS and gone in a day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ello

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
I made this cake and it's great. I did make a change however in the butter sauce, instead of water I used a good bourbon. It does not overpower the cake's flavor, it enhances it. This would be perfect for Derby Day dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I made this cake for my husband's birthday one year and he LOVED it! Now I have to make it every year! I was trying to find a similar recipe to a berry cake we had at Bravo! one time, and this hit the spot! It is perfectly dense, moist and not too sweet. I buy a frozen berry mix, add a little sugar, warm it up in the microwave and serve it over this cake with vanilla ice cream - it's to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Awesome!!!! I loved how you said to poke hole in the cake to get the sauce inside it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 685) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States