Kentucky Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I made this exactly as recipe indicates with the exception that I did not use the glaze. I used it as the cake part of Boston Creame Pie. It was wonderful. My only suggestion is that it was much better the next day when it had time to rest and soak in all flavor. The next day the full flavor and moistness came through. This is an excellent recipe! I will keep this forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
This butter cake was a hit at my husband's work. Instead of using a bundt pan, I used mini loaf pans because I wanted everyone to have their own little cake. After greasing a flouring the pans, I also used a cinnamon sugar mix and drizzled it into the pans. I found that the drizzle gave the cake a hint of sweetness. I read that some people had a problem with the cake being a little dry and I found that my cake stayed super moist and might be from using the mini loaf pans. I followed one of the reviewers suggestion and added 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon to the icing/syrup and it definitely made a difference. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
ron liked it. i felt it needed strawberries with juice to moisten it. good flavor but when the sauce hardened, it was glued to the bottom of the cakeplate. maybe flip the cake then pour sauce over so it's on the top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This is such a hit in my house that I am making every few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia W

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Easy recipe, perfect amounts, nice soft cake was even better with the butter sugar glaze. I really liked it yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamcancook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
I made this last night for a small group meeting, and it was the star of the evening. Everyone loved it--eating seconds and taking pieces home. It is very rich and moist. An excellent cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, New York, USA
Living In: East Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I made this (without the topping) as the cake part of a Boston Cream Pie. I was worried about the recipe because of the very strange method (mix all dry ingredients and then add wet??) and the incorrect chemistry - buttermilk requires baking soda to rise properly, there shouldn't be any baking powder in this recipe. But the reviews were all very good so I used the normal cake method (cream butter and sugar, add eggs, add buttermilk, add dry) and tried it. The flavour is excellent, but the cake was a bit on the dry side. I made 3 9-inch rounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kle_sam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Willowdale, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I have never had to get a cake "out of the house" but this is it! Soooo good I literally would have eaten the whole thing if it stayed. Gonna make it again tomorrow :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marci Martin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This cake was moist and delicious. My husband says this is "THE cake". No other cake should be made besides this one EVER! I followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect! I will be doubling the sauce next time though, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Southington, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This is the second time I am making this recipe. The first time I made it with the butter icing. Today I omitted the icing and added one cup of coconut to the batter. Both times the cake came out moist and delicious. This is an easy, quick cake to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 690) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States