Kentucky Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I have been making this cake for several years now, and it's ALWAYS a hit. So moist, buttery and rich! I have my guests waiting by the oven door when I make this. We love it! My family has renamed it the "butt" cake, since it goes straight to your hips :-). Since they request it all the time, it must be worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
This Cake is the best! I have made it multiple times and it bakes perfectly everytime, even at altitude! I bake a lot but when ever I ask my boyfriend what he likes best he always says this cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I added a tsp. almond extract and a tsp. lemon extract to the batter. I also baked it a dark non-stick bundt pan with Baker's Joy and it slid right out. Then, after it cooled I glazed it with equal parts powdered sugar and milk with another tsp. of almond extract and topped it all off with slivered almonds. So much better than the stuff at the grocery store bakeries! And it made my house smell divine. I will make this again and again. I might try adding poppy seeds and making them into over-sized muffins next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karibdavis13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I have had this recipe saved for a long while, but only just got around to trying it out, today. I have to say it was really good. Definitely something I'll be making again. I did substitute yogurt for the buttermilk, as I had no buttermilk. It worked just fine, and still tasted delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by phythia79
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
UPDATE: I made this for my son's birthday and used buttercream icing to make it look pretty. It was a hit! I'll be doing anohter cake for my MIL tmrw but just plain and with the butter sauce. OH WOW!!!! Baked it yesterday for hubby (in conjuction with Father's Day here in Malaysia). It was absolutely yummy!!! Even the butter sauce..though i should have made extra and poked bigger holes so that the sauce can seep in. I baked in a normal square pan as I didn't have a bundt pan on hand..did the same amount of batter, temp and time. absolutely heaven! Will definitely make this again for my son's birthday next month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phythia79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Second time making this in a week for two separate birthdays. Everyone loved it. I didnt change anything about the cake. I did use fresh strawberries and made a strawberry sauce and homemade coolwhip to have on the side. yummmy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Millersville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
best cake ever i love it its really tastey i make it all the time for birthdays and other speical events.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
This cake is absolutely amazing. Even my husband loved it and he's really not that big on sweets. I followed another review that said to cream the butter and sugar for 5 minutes, add the eggs and vanilla and cream the mixture for another 5 minutes before slowly adding the rest of the ingredients, alternating between the remaining dry ingredients and the buttermilk. The recipe was more than we needed so I halved the recipe and used a regular cake pan. It was absolutely delicious and I can't wait to have a reason to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
One of my favorite cakes. It is buttery, moist and delicious! I've had this recipe since it won it's creator $20,000 over 20 years ago as a Pillsbury Bake-Off grand winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Ok, This cake was ok nothing special.It is a very rich heavy cake i didnt care for it but my guest said it was alright i will probably not be making this cake again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 695) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States