Kentucky Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
I've baked this cake at least a dozen times & always get rave reviews. The cake is very moist with great flavor. It tastes even better the next day! I use Baker's Joy spray to prep Bundt (non-stick or regular) & NEVER have problems with cake breaking up when inverted. I usually cool the cake 40-45 min. at most. Sometimes butter/shortening & flour combo used to prep pans can be a problem when the cake cools completely. This "paste" is almost like a glue when it completely cools. For round cake pans, you can heat pan bottom for 5-10 seconds on stove eye (electic or gas) & it will release when the butter or shortening melts slightly. This is difficult for Bundt pans. I'm huge fan of Baker's Joy spray-it always works! Also, the chopstick idea is awesome. After the cake has cooled for 5 min, I poke 30-35 holes in the cake all the way to the bottom of the Bundt pan with the smaller, tapered end of the chopstick. Then I spoon or pour on the butter sauce (I make 1 1/2 times the sauce recipe). Adding 1/2 to 1 tsp cinnamon is a great variation. Also, I recommend creaming the butter & sugar for 5 min then creaming another 5 min after adding eggs/vanilla. Then I alternate dry ingredients with buttermilk. The cake rises like a charm (you can use a 12 cup Bundt pan). What a cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
316 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
I have been making this cake for 20+ years. It was originally in the Pillsbury Bake off contest in 1963 by Nell Lewis (I'm looking at the book now) The recipe is exact except that it gives the option of Rum Extract, and says to just combine all cake ingredients together, no doing dry ingredients first, or anything like that. Today I used 1 cup splenda and 1 cup sugar to see if taste was affected at all, and no one can tell the difference. In the past I have added almond extract to both sauce and cake, as well as peppermint and orange flavors to change it up. All yummy. It does say to use a long tined fork to pierce cake several times, I use kebab skewers and try to widen it a little. I also let it go down the sides so that there are streaks of sauce 3/4 down the cake, just take your time and do it slowly. Finally it says to let stand 5-10 minutes or until absorbed and then invert onto plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
240 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay Scratchley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
Wonderful and easy cake. I creamed the butter and sugar first, don't like buttermilk, so added plain milk, beat in eggs one at a time, then added other dry ingredients. Sprayed a non-stick bundt pan with PAM - no sticking problems. Next time I'll poke holes in the cake with the handle of a wooden spoon because the butter sauce really didn't soak into the cake much. Will double sauce so I can glaze top of cake too. Also added 1/2 tsp cinnamon to butter sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
202 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANELLE B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
This cake was super easy. I didn't care for it at first, so I sliced it up after a day or two and froze it. I liked it better the second time around...I think that the longer it sat, the moister it became. FYI, if you don't have buttermilk on hand, just use 1 tbsp. of cider vinegar then fill up the rest of the cup with milk and let it set for a bit and that will substitute the buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HermionePlease

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
I have been making this cake for years, I am in the process of finding the original recipe because I think my instructions for mixing is different than this recipe. More information to follow, however I do know that the sauce originally was rum flavoring, and you took a meat fork, the one with the long tines, and poke while it is in the pan, right out of the oven about 50 times around the cake, as far down as you can go with the fork. Then pour the hot rum sauce over the cake and leave it over night. Then pour it out onto a plate. Must be covered at all times. This is a wonderful cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
Yummy!! This was a very easy recipe to make for a first time cake baker. I used a straw to poke holes almost all the way to the bottom of the cake and used a turkey baster to get the butter sauce into the holes. I also added 1 tsp. of cinnamon to the batter and the butter sauce. I used powdered sugar for the sauce so it would be smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
This cake was DELICIOUS! I made it for my mom's b-day and it got rave reviews from everyone! So easy to make & a huge hit with my family! I added a 1/2 cup finely chopped pecans to the mix & made no baking adjustments. I also got away with using "light" butter for the sauce & saved half the sauce until serving time. I reheated the remaining sauce w/ some finely chopped pecans & drizzled it over the cake on the serving dish as a glaze. My stepfather told me I can throw out my other recipes & that this is the only cake I have to bring to family functions anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Charlestown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
OH MY! I made this cake less then 24 hours ago and it is almost gone! I bake a lot. Everyday. This cake is the best, most moist and delicious. I'm on my way to make another one. This time I will make small slices in the cake instead of poking holes. The sauce wanted to run to the center of the bundt pan. I think slicing it will let the sauce seep in better. I cannot thank you enough for this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BabaEva

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
I use Bakers Joy and have never had it stick. I've never used the cinnamon but have increased the vanilla to 1 Tbsp. I sometimes use a pastry brush to add the syrup after poking the holes. This seems to give the sauce more of a chance to sink in. My family and friends have always loved it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hyannis, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
Just a cake - nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 691) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States