Kentucky Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
ADD A BIT (PROB ABOUT A 1/2-1 TSP) BANANA LIQOUR TO BUTTER SAUCE and a 1/2 tsp cinnamon...delicious...another tip: flour the bundt pan VERY well or it will stick. Also, watch the cake not the clock...time varies a lot on this one. Do not overbake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
My whole family and even the neighbor kids loved this cake!! The only thing I will do differently next time is check the cake at 45 mins. Sixty minutes was too long in my oven. The cake was crumbly, but otherwise this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Portland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This was awesome! Followed the recipe and used a wooden spoon to poke the holes then slowly poured the butter sauce in the holes. Got rave reviews! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I made this for a coworker's birthday and all of my coworkers RAVED about it! It was the first cake that didn't have leftovers! It came out incredibly moist. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Good and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
simple and good tasting, but nothing special. The syrup was too much, I will probably cut it in half next time. It is difficult to uniformly distribute the syrup to all the cake, so some points may become more wet than other places, and actually I liked the parts with less or no syrup more. I used both knife (suggested by another reviewer) and toothpaste to create a lot of holes everywhere, but still didn't get the result that I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 1stLady
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I made this cake today and it is WONDERFUL. The smell alone is mouth watering. Instead of all purpose flour I used cake flour, put in 1 Tablespoon of vanilla extract (got that from another viewer), and added a 1/3 cup more of white sugar. For the glaze a used 1/2 tsp of cinnamon as requested from another viewer, (thanks for that tip!) This cake is so good and moist, also a keeper!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
My original recipe yields the following changes: 2 tbls of vanilla and sour cream to replace the buttermilk. The sauce recipe reads : 1 cup of sugar, 1/4 cup water, 1/2 cup butter, 1 tbls vanilla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This cake is wonderful. It's moist and buttery. I think it would be very good at any time of day. I made it exactly as directed. I did not have any trouble getting it out of the pan. It had a lovely light brown crust. It was delicious! I would be proud to serve it to company for any occasion. Thanks, Ms. Stull. Your recipe is excellent. I also appreciate the comments of many other reviewers. Excellent suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This was a faboulously moist cake. A crowd pleaser at my last Christmas party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 690) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States