Kentucky Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Cannot figure out the rave reviews for this one. Cake was moist, but flavor was nothing special. The sugar sauce had an odd flavor. Cake did stick terribly to the pan, too! Next time, I'll make a regular pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
This cake was absolutely fantastic! It was one of the easiest cakes I ever made yet the flavor and texture was outstanding. I followed the recipe to the tee. My personal suggestion is to make the cake the day before. The flavor seemed to develop even more the day after I baked it. I would also make an extra recipe of the butter sauce and use it in and on top of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Trevor, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I just love finding recipes that become new must have traditions and this one certainly hits that mark! I made it as it was written and it was absolutely perfect. Thanks so much for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Absolutely delicious! Very moist!! Wouldnt change a thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bettycrockertammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
This cake is a bit sweet, but tastes really good. I had to have a piece while it was still warm, all I can say is yummmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Nice yellow butter cake. made pretty much according to the recipe, used a chopstick to poke holes in cake just after it came out of the oven and doused with sauce, which was promptly soaked up. Had no problem getting it out of greased/floured pan, after cooling in the pan for about an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Way too dense!! Ok flavor but not as good as I thought it would be. If I ever decide to make it again, I will use cake flour which I hope will make for a lighter cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nancyjane
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This cake has been in our family for years and its always delicious.I was looking for a bee hive recipe and all recipes came up with this reminding me of its goodness. Thanks for posting Suzanne.It made a beautiful bee hive cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancyjane

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stamford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This was easy and amazing. It was very simple. I used some homemade buttermilk, and it worked out perfectly. Thank you for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
My infamous sweet tooth has been satisfied ! One of the most decadent cakes I've ever had the pleasure to bake & eat. Rich, sweet and oh so good. I did followed the other reviewers suggestion & added cinnamon & a dash of nutmeg to both the batter & sauce. A bigtime keeper. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Narragansett, Rhode Island, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 690) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States