Kentucky Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Although this cake was good(what cake isn't), it didn't live up to high ratings in my opinion...mine stuck in the bundt pan, and I sprayed it thoroughly. As another reviewer said, "Just a cake, nothing special" If I were to make it again, I'd double the sauce for sure....if I were to make it again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Great cake. I've been making it for a couple years now and eveyone loves it. I use a 16oz container of sour cream instead of buttermilk. I also added a package of vanilla pudding mix. In my gas oven, I cook it for exactly 1 hr & 10 min. It's perfectly cooked each time. Let the cake completely cool before taking it out the pan or it will stick because of the butter sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This cake was wonderful. Very moist and light. I added lemon extract to the batter and I think it made all the difference. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
It was ok. Nothing special. The flavor was good but the texture was a little too crumbly for me. Maybe I did something wrong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Yummy!!! It's a very dense and rich cake. I didn't add the sauce but next time I bake this cake, I will definitely do it. It freezes very well, just wrap tightly in plastic and then again in a plastic bag. When I was ready to frost the cake, I defrosted it in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Love this cake, unfortunately, my husband didn't like it very much, and he is the big cake eater in the family. Next time I make this, it will be for a rather large gathering. Thank you for sharing. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarKerRaven

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
It was a hit when I made it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I used this cake recipe to make a tiered cake for a birthday pary and put buttercream frosting on it... I am going to make i again ith the butter sauce. It is probably out of this world!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This cake is absolutely fabulous. i made it tonight and my dad says its a keeper. mum said it was wicked and asked me to cut up some immediately for her to take to office in the morning. I followed the recipe to scratch but made 2 alterations. i cut the sugar down to just 1 cup/200g because i was afraid it would be too sweet. it turned out great, also i cut 50g of sugar out of the butter sauce. additionally i added 1.5 tablespoons of lemon juice to give it that extra zing. the cake is absolutely gorgeous and so easy to make. enjoy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeyanthi N.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Thought this was a little bland. I will make again and add some flavoring to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 718) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States