Kentucky Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I added a little almond extract to both the cake and the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Clemens, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Took this cake to a party without even tasting it. It got great reviews!! I did double the sauce that goes on it and I did let it boil. Turned out wonderful. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Neiter

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mauckport, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
The cake its just ok, I Had to make three times before i could get it just right! or at least to my satisfaction. I added one more egg, a whole tablespoon of vanilla extract, zest of an orange. I reduced the buttermilk to a 1/2 C + 1/4 C Orange Juice and 1/4 C Milk. I melted the butter and added it last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Everyone loved this cake! I exchanged the vanilla for rum and coconut extract. (1 tsp each). The buttery sauce was yummy too! I will look for a better way to get the sauce to sink in though. It might work better if you slice it- then pour on the sauce. Still wonderful regardless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
This may be the best yellow cake I've ever made. Very nice, classic crumb and incredible buttery moistness that the sauce imparts made this a huge hit at my last gathering. You MUST give this one a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Sooo good. I was skeptical of the unconventional method at first but it turned out great. Hard to stop eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Made the cake according to the recipe - perfect! I used a mocha sauce instead, just thrown together off the top of my head and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OlliesMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
This cake was great. Not good for you...but good tasting! I ran out of vanilla extract for the butter sauce, so I used 2 tsp. of maple syrup. I think that may be even better than using the vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alayna B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
This one's a keeper! I'm going to try browning the butter in the glaze next time. I've made this a few times as written and it always turns out moist and buttery. This bakes up perfectly in 2 6-cup bundt pans, about 40 min. My only mistake I made one time was to make 1 1/2 X the glaze recipe which made the cake a little too soggy. Didn't help that I also drizzled the top of the cake with even more powder sugar glaze. Facepalm. That made it a too sweet + too soggy. Update: Serving the cake chilled cures the sogginess! I prefer cakes room temperature so next time I'll just follow the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
This is so good! My husband said its not worth the calories to him, but it definitely is to me...I'm about to sneak back for a second helping :) The glaze is the best part. Probably wouldn't double it, though. Thanks for the great recipe, Suzanne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 702) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States