Kentucky Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Went over VERY WELL at my house! I will make this again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
A keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I would never have believed that dumping all the ingredients in one bowl and beating for three minutes would produce an edible pound cake. Well, I made this cake yesterday exactly as the recipe called for, and now I'm a believer! Turned out perfectly...so moist and delicious. LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
I just wound up not liking the flavor at all. I'm so disappointed. I think it's just my fickle tastebuds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I made this cake recently and it was a definite hit! Thanks to the many helpful reviews, I made some minor but very helpful modifications to the recipe. I creamed the butter & sugar first and then mixed in the remaining wet ingredients. Then I slowly added in the remaining dry ingredients (pre-mixed). After baking, I let the cake cool for 15min before poking lots of holes with the fat end of a chopstick almost all the way through the cake. Then I slowly poured the butter sauce into the holes. I let that sit for another 15min and then served the cake. The cake was still warm at that point which made it go really well with ice cream. I did feel that the parts of the cake without sauce was a bit on the dry side, more noticeable once it cooled. If you store it in the fridge and eat it the next day, that seems to solve that problem ... but then the warm cake is always better, I think. I also added a tablespoon of bourbon to my butter sauce which gave it a nice extra boost to the flavour. I didn't have any problems with the cake sticking in my bundt pan. I greased and floured the pan (Nordic, non stick, original design) and the cake fell right out! This is a keeper recipe for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Outrageous! I did exactly as the recipe said and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rowy23

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rhinebeck, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
This was a big hit at a dinner party--all eaten in one go! I made it the day before and the glaze worked it's way into the cake quite nicely. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE THIS CAKE!! MY FAMILY DOES TOO! I MADE IT FOR CHRISTMAS. I FOLLOWED IT AS INSTRUCTED. IT CAME OUT LOVELY. IT'S VERY MOIST & BUTTERY. I POKED SEVERAL HOLES IN IT WITH A TOOTHPICK, THEN DRIZZLED THE GLAZE ON. I LET THE CAKE SIT FOR 10 MINUTES. I DIDN'T HAVE A PROBLEM GETTING IT OUT OF THE PAN BECAUSE I GENEROUSLY SPRAYED IT WITH BAKER'S JOY IT WAS A SIGHT TO BEHOLD!!! *GOLDEN BROWN DELICIOUSNESS :) I WILL MAKE THIS AGAIN. THANKS!!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andreia Lenyard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
AMAZING!!! My family loved this cake. I made it for Thanksgiving today. At the advice of some of the other reviewers, I creamed the butter and sugar together. Then, I added the salt, baking powder, baking soda and vanilla extract. Then I added 3 of the eggs...one at a time. Then I added the flour. Then I added the 4th egg. The buttermilk was the last ingredient I added. This made the mixing process so much easier. I actually mixed it by hand because I didn't feel like pulling out my electric mixer. I used a large meat fork to poke holes throughout the cake, then poured the butter sauce over it. Again I say...AMAZING!!! My husband has requested that I make this again at Christmas and add pecans to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Southgate, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Can I use all purpose flour? I don't have unbleached one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 713) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States