Kentucky Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
This cake was great. Not good for you...but good tasting! I ran out of vanilla extract for the butter sauce, so I used 2 tsp. of maple syrup. I think that may be even better than using the vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alayna B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
This one's a keeper! I'm going to try browning the butter in the glaze next time. I've made this a few times as written and it always turns out moist and buttery. This bakes up perfectly in 2 6-cup bundt pans, about 40 min. My only mistake I made one time was to make 1 1/2 X the glaze recipe which made the cake a little too soggy. Didn't help that I also drizzled the top of the cake with even more powder sugar glaze. Facepalm. That made it a too sweet + too soggy. Update: Serving the cake chilled cures the sogginess! I prefer cakes room temperature so next time I'll just follow the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
This is so good! My husband said its not worth the calories to him, but it definitely is to me...I'm about to sneak back for a second helping :) The glaze is the best part. Probably wouldn't double it, though. Thanks for the great recipe, Suzanne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I didn't love this cake. My husband however, thought it was great. The batter ended up looking like pancake batter and while it baked beautifully, it just tasted so so. The butters sauce was OK but as it settled, the cake just started looking like it was streaked with grease. I won't be making this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CakeDiva1913

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
So good I also drizeled some of the sauce over top as a glaze. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This cake was just OK. I liked it but wish I would have made double or triple the glaze to follow the instructions AND to add some once it's out on display. The way it is now, not worth the calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
If you like pound cake you will like this recipe. Go get a Bundt and try it! STick with REAL BUTTER. It is much tastier than margarine, besides we all have OBAMA CARE now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belfast, Maine, USA
Living In: Brooks, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by piercedambition

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I am not much of a baker but, this is the best cake I ever made. the family loved it. If I can do it this well, anyone can. I highly recommend this thanks for the detailed recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
This is SUCH a yummy cake. Pretty easy to make. Very very tasty. Moist and delicious. It's my go-to cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Saint George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 685) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States