Kentucky Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
First of all I made this cake twice the frist time mixng the way described and it did not rise. Second time mixing butter and sugar first then adding eggs. Made according to recipe and it was SALTY! SALTY! So today I have thrown two Kentucky Butter Cakes in the trash along with the recipe. Thanks anyway
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I've made this cake twice now. My family absolutely LOVES it! It's very rich but still moist. Even without the butter sauce. I'll try to make photo's next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shasha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Philipsburg, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Although this cake was good(what cake isn't), it didn't live up to high ratings in my opinion...mine stuck in the bundt pan, and I sprayed it thoroughly. As another reviewer said, "Just a cake, nothing special" If I were to make it again, I'd double the sauce for sure....if I were to make it again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Great cake. I've been making it for a couple years now and eveyone loves it. I use a 16oz container of sour cream instead of buttermilk. I also added a package of vanilla pudding mix. In my gas oven, I cook it for exactly 1 hr & 10 min. It's perfectly cooked each time. Let the cake completely cool before taking it out the pan or it will stick because of the butter sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This cake was wonderful. Very moist and light. I added lemon extract to the batter and I think it made all the difference. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
It was ok. Nothing special. The flavor was good but the texture was a little too crumbly for me. Maybe I did something wrong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Yummy!!! It's a very dense and rich cake. I didn't add the sauce but next time I bake this cake, I will definitely do it. It freezes very well, just wrap tightly in plastic and then again in a plastic bag. When I was ready to frost the cake, I defrosted it in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Love this cake, unfortunately, my husband didn't like it very much, and he is the big cake eater in the family. Next time I make this, it will be for a rather large gathering. Thank you for sharing. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarKerRaven

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
It was a hit when I made it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I used this cake recipe to make a tiered cake for a birthday pary and put buttercream frosting on it... I am going to make i again ith the butter sauce. It is probably out of this world!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 690) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States