Kentucky Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Absolutely delicious, and so easy to make. Just make sure your butter is nice a soft so it mixes easily with the other ingredients. If I could give it 10 stars I would. Any one can make this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
My family and friends loved this cake. Just took two out of the oven. Wouldn't change a thing about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
This is an awesome basic recipe. I almost didnt make the butter sauce but in the end I am glad I did. Maybe next time add some chocolate chips or a caramel sauce .. regardless.. it is a great starting point!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I was SO excited to try this cake, and unfortunately, I was disappointed. I made the recipe as written. The butter sauce only soaked in about halfway, and that added moisture and flavor but made it a bit greasy. The cake was decent, but not what I would consider a 5-star recipe. Basically, it's a pound cake. I served it with vanilla bean ice cream on the side, and the ice cream was what stood out. I would use potentially serve this with strawberries and cream in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
First of all I made this cake twice the frist time mixng the way described and it did not rise. Second time mixing butter and sugar first then adding eggs. Made according to recipe and it was SALTY! SALTY! So today I have thrown two Kentucky Butter Cakes in the trash along with the recipe. Thanks anyway
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I've made this cake twice now. My family absolutely LOVES it! It's very rich but still moist. Even without the butter sauce. I'll try to make photo's next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shasha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Philipsburg, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Although this cake was good(what cake isn't), it didn't live up to high ratings in my opinion...mine stuck in the bundt pan, and I sprayed it thoroughly. As another reviewer said, "Just a cake, nothing special" If I were to make it again, I'd double the sauce for sure....if I were to make it again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Great cake. I've been making it for a couple years now and eveyone loves it. I use a 16oz container of sour cream instead of buttermilk. I also added a package of vanilla pudding mix. In my gas oven, I cook it for exactly 1 hr & 10 min. It's perfectly cooked each time. Let the cake completely cool before taking it out the pan or it will stick because of the butter sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This cake was wonderful. Very moist and light. I added lemon extract to the batter and I think it made all the difference. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
It was ok. Nothing special. The flavor was good but the texture was a little too crumbly for me. Maybe I did something wrong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 694) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States