Kentucky Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Moist, delicious and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
OMG I love this recipe.. its one of those -don't even think about the calories and enjoy- cakes! I've also 1/2 the recipe and made in a bread pan and served like a pound cake. One tip.. let the cake air dry for a while so the syrup gets a slight crust to it.. adds a nice texture like a glazed donut.. so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GreenLotus77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I've made this cake for over 35 years, since my Mom gave me a cookbook with the recipe in it. My grown kid's have passed on the recipe to their families. It will stay moist for a week, if you are lucky enough to keep it that long. Never happenend at my house:) I gave it 4 stars, because the original sauce recipe calls for 2 tsps of Rum Flavoring. The vanilla is optional. Also, I have made it substituting half the liquid with 1/2cup sour cream and 1/2 cup milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Good taste but not my favorite would be hard to cut if you are making a specialty cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I thought it was good, but my guys just didn't go for it so it just sat there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alvin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
It was a hit with my family Thanksgiving, we made strawberry short cake out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lajuana

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Super moist and buttery. Good to the last crumb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
A great cake! It's simplistic yet delicious. The texture and moistness improves the next day so I always make it the night before. I pour 1 tablespoon of vinegar into a one-cup measure and fill the rest with milk in place of the buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This cake was so rich. I really did not get a chance to really taste it but I am surely going to make it again. I took it to agathering but I had some trouble getting it out of the pan ( a little impatient) so the presentation was not very good. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet2th

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manteca, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
YUM! Being someone that loves to bake I reverted to the old fashioned baking trends and creamed my butter and sugar. I then added one egg at a time blending after each. I combined all the dry ingredients and added it to the batter alternating with the buttermilk, beginning and ending with the dry ingredients. I have to say this cake isn’t much to look at but the taste and moistness make up for that. Next time I might try using a tube pan as the top before inverting this cake had a beautiful golden butter split. Not sure how I’m going to do the glaze but I hate to lose the beautiful top, I’ll let you know what I come up with. Again YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 696) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States