Kentucky Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
This cake is absolutely amazing. Even my husband loved it and he's really not that big on sweets. I followed another review that said to cream the butter and sugar for 5 minutes, add the eggs and vanilla and cream the mixture for another 5 minutes before slowly adding the rest of the ingredients, alternating between the remaining dry ingredients and the buttermilk. The recipe was more than we needed so I halved the recipe and used a regular cake pan. It was absolutely delicious and I can't wait to have a reason to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
One of my favorite cakes. It is buttery, moist and delicious! I've had this recipe since it won it's creator $20,000 over 20 years ago as a Pillsbury Bake-Off grand winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hutzellsba

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Ok, This cake was ok nothing special.It is a very rich heavy cake i didnt care for it but my guest said it was alright i will probably not be making this cake again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I have been looking for this recipe for several years. My ex's Grandmother used to make this and it was absolutely melt in your mouth wonderful! The only thing I do different is double the butter sauce and pour over the top. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I made this as a giant cupcake for my daughter's first birthday and it was a hit! My brothers all said it's the best cake they've ever had...I think I'm going to make another one soon, with a fruit filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by dorisc03
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
great basic butter cake recipe! i actually experimented and made two cakes - one with 3 cups flour and the other with only two. i liked it with less flour as it was denser and very moist. as my family doesn't like super sweet cake (except for me), i only used 1 1/2 cups sugar for the cake and 1/2 cup sugar for the sauce. i also added a few tablespoons of cheap brandy and cooked the alcohol out of the sauce. to decorate the cake, i made fresh whipped cream with no added sugar as my frosting, garnished with berries. the cake was a lovely mother's day treat - thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
This sounds delicous..Can this be made into a sheet cake? I have been asked to make a 2 layer cake for a child's communion, and need a good vanilla or butter cake recipe. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I made this exactly as recipe indicates with the exception that I did not use the glaze. I used it as the cake part of Boston Creame Pie. It was wonderful. My only suggestion is that it was much better the next day when it had time to rest and soak in all flavor. The next day the full flavor and moistness came through. This is an excellent recipe! I will keep this forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
This butter cake was a hit at my husband's work. Instead of using a bundt pan, I used mini loaf pans because I wanted everyone to have their own little cake. After greasing a flouring the pans, I also used a cinnamon sugar mix and drizzled it into the pans. I found that the drizzle gave the cake a hint of sweetness. I read that some people had a problem with the cake being a little dry and I found that my cake stayed super moist and might be from using the mini loaf pans. I followed one of the reviewers suggestion and added 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon to the icing/syrup and it definitely made a difference. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 718) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States