Kentucky Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I have been looking for this recipe for several years. My ex's Grandmother used to make this and it was absolutely melt in your mouth wonderful! The only thing I do different is double the butter sauce and pour over the top. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I made this as a giant cupcake for my daughter's first birthday and it was a hit! My brothers all said it's the best cake they've ever had...I think I'm going to make another one soon, with a fruit filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by dorisc03
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
great basic butter cake recipe! i actually experimented and made two cakes - one with 3 cups flour and the other with only two. i liked it with less flour as it was denser and very moist. as my family doesn't like super sweet cake (except for me), i only used 1 1/2 cups sugar for the cake and 1/2 cup sugar for the sauce. i also added a few tablespoons of cheap brandy and cooked the alcohol out of the sauce. to decorate the cake, i made fresh whipped cream with no added sugar as my frosting, garnished with berries. the cake was a lovely mother's day treat - thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
This sounds delicous..Can this be made into a sheet cake? I have been asked to make a 2 layer cake for a child's communion, and need a good vanilla or butter cake recipe. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I made this exactly as recipe indicates with the exception that I did not use the glaze. I used it as the cake part of Boston Creame Pie. It was wonderful. My only suggestion is that it was much better the next day when it had time to rest and soak in all flavor. The next day the full flavor and moistness came through. This is an excellent recipe! I will keep this forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
This butter cake was a hit at my husband's work. Instead of using a bundt pan, I used mini loaf pans because I wanted everyone to have their own little cake. After greasing a flouring the pans, I also used a cinnamon sugar mix and drizzled it into the pans. I found that the drizzle gave the cake a hint of sweetness. I read that some people had a problem with the cake being a little dry and I found that my cake stayed super moist and might be from using the mini loaf pans. I followed one of the reviewers suggestion and added 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon to the icing/syrup and it definitely made a difference. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
ron liked it. i felt it needed strawberries with juice to moisten it. good flavor but when the sauce hardened, it was glued to the bottom of the cakeplate. maybe flip the cake then pour sauce over so it's on the top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This is such a hit in my house that I am making every few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia W

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Easy recipe, perfect amounts, nice soft cake was even better with the butter sugar glaze. I really liked it yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamcancook

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 101-110 (of 685) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States