Kentucky Bourbon Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2001
I love this recipe, my mother used to make it when I was a kid... she used 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar! Try it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2003
This is the absolute BEST (and easiest) recipe for sweet potatoes I've found. I substituted brown sugar for the white & ended up having to bake it a bit longer. It was a HUGE hit, a MUST try even if you THINK you don't like sweet potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Oro Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I made this for a crowd - it was a big hit - especially with my husband! I did make a couple of substitutions - I used 8 large potatoes and doubled the sauce. I used brown sugar and some honey - not quite 2 cups total but close. I stirred and turned the potatoes several times and sprinked the top with a little cinnamon. You couldn't taste a lot of liquor - just a hint which surprised me. It was clearly an adult sweet potato recipe - not the cloyingly sweet marshmallowy mess and we really, really liked this one. A real winner in our book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DinnerDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
I've made these with fresh sweet potatoes and canned as well. The canned don't need to cook as long, but are almost as good as starting with fresh - and certainly a time saver. I really love this recipe! I've also used Jack Daniels for the whiskey and substituted Splenda or stevia herb for the sugar. You might want to cut back just a bit on the liquor as it can be overpowering for some. Great for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne in Minnesota

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
At first I didn't think there was going to be enough sauce becuase the potatoes weren't even covered. Some other folks that have rated this recipe have thought so, too. But, you don't need to make more sauce, really! If you make more of anything, then make more of everything! (You're going to need a big baking dish, and turn occassionaly to help cook evenly.) The potatoes will definitely cook down and the sauce will thicken up, and this side dish will be the first one gone at any potluck!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kuna, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
I just made this recipe for Thanksgiving and my guests loved it. I tried it with half white sugar and half brown sugar as another reviewer recommended. I did make sure that upon heating the sugar, bourbon, butter and vanilla on the stove that all ingredients were completely disolved to avoid a "sugary" texture.Although the butter and bourbon mixture was never completely absorbed by the sweet potatoes, the resulting dish was excellent.(I am at high altitude, and some foods react differently than they would at lower altitudes.)Thank-you for sharing this recipe, Mozelle! You helped make our Thanksgiving a delicious one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
Wonderful recipe,Mozelle! A rich buttery flavor that enhances the taste of the sweet potato without the cloying sweetness we all dread at Thanksgiving. I'll be serving more sweet potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
This was really good. I cut the amount of sugar in half and added a quarter cup of honey for a more earthy flavor. I also covered the dish as others had suggested and mixed the potoates every 15 min. The only other thing I'll change for next time is to broil them with out the foil cover to have some crispy tops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Fantastic! A few changes, however, add some zip. I used brown sugar instead of white. Added 1 tsp. cinnamon and 1/2 tsp. nutmeg (I used freshly grated) Mmmmmmmmmmmmm! The bourbon cooks away, of course, imparting a wonderful flavor to the potatoes. This recipe has become a Thanksgiving fave and this is the 2nd year my husband has taken it to the workplace potluck and it disappears before anything else. A KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
This is my favorite holiday recipe to share with others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States