Kentucky Bourbon Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2000
A delicious fast and easy recipe. We took ours to a christmas party and everyone loved it. We sliced our sweet potatoes and it tasted wonderful. Our child didn't like them because of the bourbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2001
Absolutly fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2001
This recipe was the hit of all our holidays last year. I was so glad to still find it so I can mail it to more friends this year. The men in our family especially liked it. I think it will be my contribution to a family tradition. E Hughes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMHUGHES
Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2001
I love making this recipe for my husband and in-laws, who are Kentucky natives. It's so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2001
I love this recipe, my mother used to make it when I was a kid... she used 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar! Try it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
Wonderful recipe,Mozelle! A rich buttery flavor that enhances the taste of the sweet potato without the cloying sweetness we all dread at Thanksgiving. I'll be serving more sweet potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
I found this recipe to be overly sweet, it was a little too sugary. The bourbon and vanilla extract gave it a nice hint of flavor. The sauce was not absorbed and it did not get crusty and brown. I would not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
This is my favorite holiday recipe to share with others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
I just made this recipe for Thanksgiving and my guests loved it. I tried it with half white sugar and half brown sugar as another reviewer recommended. I did make sure that upon heating the sugar, bourbon, butter and vanilla on the stove that all ingredients were completely disolved to avoid a "sugary" texture.Although the butter and bourbon mixture was never completely absorbed by the sweet potatoes, the resulting dish was excellent.(I am at high altitude, and some foods react differently than they would at lower altitudes.)Thank-you for sharing this recipe, Mozelle! You helped make our Thanksgiving a delicious one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
Very tasty and simple. What more can you ask! As good as any candied sweet potato dish and not as sweet. Use fresh sweet potatoes! I scaled it down for two people and it worked fine. Some people might want to double the sauce but I felt it was sufficient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States