Kentucky Bourbon Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
Very, very good! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
Great flavor and new taste for sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
These were OK, but I much prefer the sweet potato casserole with brown sugar and pecan topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
I was kind of disappointed. Feel it was a little blah and there are better ways to prepare sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
Great recipe! I used Jack Daniels for the burboun, and also boiled the yams for 20 minutes before baking them, as I like them very soft. It came out perfect and was sooo easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
At first I didn't think there was going to be enough sauce becuase the potatoes weren't even covered. Some other folks that have rated this recipe have thought so, too. But, you don't need to make more sauce, really! If you make more of anything, then make more of everything! (You're going to need a big baking dish, and turn occassionaly to help cook evenly.) The potatoes will definitely cook down and the sauce will thicken up, and this side dish will be the first one gone at any potluck!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kuna, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
I used 1/3 the sugar and inclreased the Bourbon. I then cooked them on the stove top in an iron kettle and mashed them afterwards - solves the problem of having some dried out potatoes. It was a bit hit at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
I didnt have bourbon, and the liquor store was closed, so we substituted cognac. It smelled like wino potatoes!! I also used a large dish, and it didn't seem like there was enough liquid to cover, so I doubled the sauce. I also reccomend covering in the oven, some of mine were a little dried. But dispite the strong smell, they tasted pretty good. I will make them again, but i'll probable add some OJ to the sauce, and use a smaller dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
Best sweet potatoes I've ever fixed - satisfies the sweet tooth without having to use marshmallows, syrup, etc... You WON'T have a problem at all with the potatoes drying out as long as you stir twice during baking. That way - the potatoes aren't steamed and have the little bit of sugar crunch to them without being dry at all!!! I will use this recipe again and again - would be a nice way to impress guests!!! All this and very quick and easy to boot!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
I used this recipe last Thanksgiving and it was a HUGE HIT! I am going to bake it again this Thanksgiving. This is an excellent recipe for sweet potatoes or yams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States