Kentucky Bourbon Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
VERY GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
This was very good! However, it did take a lot longer than 40 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I really enjoy these sweet potatoes. I have made them several times. Although,I have altered the recipe. I use half white sugar and half brown sugar at the recommendation of another review and preferred the taste. I also only use half the bourbon that it calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This is a fantastic recipe! It's unfortunate my wife is not a fan of sweet potatoes. More for me! I increased the baking time by 15-20 minutes; the sweet potatoes were much more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Wonderful holiday recipe which has become a family, requested dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
These are amazing. It's the only way I like sweet potatoes. When I used 6 I needed to make more sauce, but I usually half or third the amount of potatoes and it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I made this for a crowd - it was a big hit - especially with my husband! I did make a couple of substitutions - I used 8 large potatoes and doubled the sauce. I used brown sugar and some honey - not quite 2 cups total but close. I stirred and turned the potatoes several times and sprinked the top with a little cinnamon. You couldn't taste a lot of liquor - just a hint which surprised me. It was clearly an adult sweet potato recipe - not the cloyingly sweet marshmallowy mess and we really, really liked this one. A real winner in our book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DinnerDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
Sweet and tasty. The burbon gives it a little zip. Great dish served seafood and red meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Though I like bourbon, I used some Applejack I had left over and it was quite good that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
I've made these with fresh sweet potatoes and canned as well. The canned don't need to cook as long, but are almost as good as starting with fresh - and certainly a time saver. I really love this recipe! I've also used Jack Daniels for the whiskey and substituted Splenda or stevia herb for the sugar. You might want to cut back just a bit on the liquor as it can be overpowering for some. Great for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne in Minnesota

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States