Kentucky Bourbon Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I loved this, as did guests. I also found the baking time much longer than mentioned in the directions--well over an hour, in fact. And I also stirred every 15 or 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
This was delicious! Great way to serve up sweet potatoes. I served this with Caroline Pulled pork and cobbler for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Fantastic! A few changes, however, add some zip. I used brown sugar instead of white. Added 1 tsp. cinnamon and 1/2 tsp. nutmeg (I used freshly grated) Mmmmmmmmmmmmm! The bourbon cooks away, of course, imparting a wonderful flavor to the potatoes. This recipe has become a Thanksgiving fave and this is the 2nd year my husband has taken it to the workplace potluck and it disappears before anything else. A KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This is the recipe I have used for years and have become famous for! Except....mine calls for 1/3 cup of bourbon and 2 eggs and you mash it all together and then bake it. Little kids don't care for the bourbon taste but everybody else does! I am excited to try slicing the potatoes this year, this is one of the dishes I look forward to every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I made this recipe for Mother's Day and it was a hit. It is a keeper. So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
The best way to eat sweet potatoes! Made this for Thanksgiving and my mother ate 3 helpings! Be careful not to cook the sauce too long, as it could burn and you need to start over. Now I fix this every year and we all love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suki's mommy
Living In: Thornton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
My family always request these. I use brown sugar instead of white sugar and I cut the sugar in half. I use yams, which some people call sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by petitchou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Good and easy, I used canned potatoes. Made as directed, good flavor, and very simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTYSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This was a GREAT recipe! I gave it 4 stars because I feel altering it would make it PERFECT. Next I plan to use half white and half brown sugar (or maybe all brown) and about half the bourbon (it was not too strong but overwhelming). Otherwise, a GREAT recipe. Plan to make it again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by edodson630

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
VERY GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States