Kentucky Bourbon Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Shirl
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
My friends and I held a 4th July party as we'd all recently returned from separate holidays in USA. I made these and they loved them. I initially thought they'd be too sweet given the large amount of sugar, however, the nuts and bourbon seem to counteract this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
This is a great recipe! I didn't have any bourbon in the house so I used Jack Daniel's Honey Whiskey. The famiy loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I love this recipe. I make these Bourbon balls every year and they are a huge hit with my family and friends. The must have is good KY Bourbon. Generic just won't do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mskygirl01

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This recipe is great, however I don't thing the poster makes it clear enough that you need to drain the nuts before adding them to the mix. If I hadn't made candy before I would have had an awful mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Great recipe!!! I was looking for the recipe my late MIL used to make. I am soaking the nuts for my second batch. I will buy regular baking semi chocolate for the next batch.. I messed up and bought chocolate chips this time. I added 2 Tablespoons coconut oil to 2 cups chips. I was worried because they didn't look like they would set up. I put them in the refrigerator and left them alone about an hour and they are great! I did run out of chocolate, though. I can't wait for hubby to try these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
This is a real bourbon ball rather than the other recipes that use vanilla wafers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Very tasty and easy but definitely make ahead of time and put in the freezer to mature the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Everybody loved these - for the 2012 season I rolled some in cinnamon sugar, some in powdered sugar and some in cocoa powder. I didn't do the chocolate yet - try it in 2013.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Shazam, these are way too sweet. This is my first time eating a bourbon ball so I'll assume this is normal and won't rate based on taste. However, I was guided to this recipe by the instructional video and it wasn't until I was up to my knuckles in a mealy butter/sugar mixture that I realized the recipe didn't follow the video. The vanilla was missing, the video appears to use way less sugar, and the ingredients are mixed in a different order. What gives, KY Piano teacher? Did Allrecipes ruin your good recipe? Thanks for submitting it. Now I have a bottle of KY bourbon so maybe I'll make a cocktail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
These are great. I love to bake for the holidays, but find a lot of recipes to be much too sweet. The bourbon in these balances out the sweetness very nicely (I added a little extra). After reading the toils and troubles others had with the melted chocolate, I rolled mine in unsweetened cocoa powder and it worked great. The sharp contrast between the interior and exterior flavors is amazing. Next time I'll soak the nuts for a few days instead of overnight. Best stored in the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States