Kentucky Bourbon Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
very good, this is the recipe I have always used. Just a note for those who aren't aware...the longer these sit, the stronger they get
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This is how I fixed them. The only thing is I roll them out and put tooth picks in them then freeze for an hour or so until very hard. Then I just peel them off the paper and dip in the chocolate one at a time. After they cool I take out the tooth picks. If they get soft just pop back in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Thank you for a simple yet wonderful receipe. My husband grew up in KY and now I live here. It's all most a sin not to make these for the holidays. So I set out to find one that even I could make and I DID IT!!!! Even the older folks were impressed...some asked for more Bourbon...lol. Thanks again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Morehead, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
These were so yummy!!! and are now my mom's favorite treat!! Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsBurns

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KY Piano Teacher
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I solve the melting problem by forming the balls, placing them on a cookie sheet lined with wax paper, and chilling them in the freezer for a few minutes before I dip them in the chocolate. There's really no way around it, though, you will have to work quickly in the chocolate and it takes a little practice before it gets easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KY Piano Teacher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I have never made Bourbon balls before but I have been told by my husband and other Kentucky natives that this recipe was good. I did not like them. Perhaps I misunderstood, but rolling a ball of butter and sugar in melted chocolate makes the ball melt in the process. I ended up just dabbing the chocolate on as best as I could. They turned out a mess as a result. I wouldn't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I made these for Christmas because they are one of my Dad's favorites!! I added a bit more bourbon; that's the way daddy likes them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morehead, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bonnieville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Trust me. This is the bourbon ball recipe. Make sure to buy quality Kentucky bourbon. Half the fun is sipping away while making them! I know many other recipes like to use corn syrups and such, but I've only tried them this way (I've made them many times before) and I like the straight simple ingredients best. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
This is very similar the bourbon ball my grannie made for Christmas while I was growing up in Kentucky. A good bottle of fine Kentucky bourbon is a must to make great bourbon balls. I made a batch with this recipe and everyone loved them. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bluegrass Deb

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-69 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States