Kentucky Bourbon Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I was really disappointed. I thought they were way too sweet and basically flavorless. I would only recommend making this recipe if you've had Kentucky bourbon balls before and know you like them. I was sorry I had put a lot of time and expense into making these for friends for the holidays .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I looked at this recipe, the print recipe. Then I watched the video, no vanilla listed as an ingredient...Oh well too late now. Also very messy to roll into a ball even after refrigerating overnight. I am almost afraid to coat them in melted chocolate, might just have to eat them with a spoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Excellent recipe. My brother is allergic to nuts so I made a batch with coconut and he said they were fantastic. I soaked the cocnut in bourbon like the nuts and they turned out the same way. one option to consider if you're making them for someone with a nut allergy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
i dont understand what i did wrong. . i got a pack of walnuts and chopped them then added the bourbon and let them sit overnight. . then i poured the nuts into the mixed butter and sugar, but after i folded the nuts in, the mixture was very very runny. i stried to form balls, but just became blobs. i put them in the freezer to try and have them hardened but it didnt work. . i kno these things are great and want to make them for christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
My daughter was married this summer in Lexington KY. Most of the guests were not from KY. We wanted to give our guests a taste of KY and the bourbon balls were perfect. We put them in small gift boxes and gave them to the wedding guests as favors. Everyone loved them. Since it was for a wedding, we made half of them with white chocolate and half with milk chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
This is the true bourbon ball recipe. For best results use a single barrel bourbon and soak the nuts for at least one week. Also, if the sugar mixture is dry and crumbly, do not hesitate to add a touch of the bourbon that the nuts soaked in. I drain the nuts, and reserve the bourbon and start the nut soaking process all over again. They store wonderfully in the refrigerator, for several weeks ( I have stored as much as 6 weeks in advance of the holidays ). Enjoy---
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I have made these for years only I have always used unsweet chocolate. The contrast between the sweet and unsweet is great. And we store and eat them from the freezer. I use 1 stick butter per 1 lb of sugar with a tad of burbon poured in. stir till it looks like play dough then we take a pecan that is soaked in burbon and form a ball of dough around that, freeze anywhere from an hour or a few days (depends on when I have time to dip them) then we dip them. I make anywhere from 500 to 2000 for christmas. My husband owns a business and he gave them away as a gift one year and people always ask when were gonna make them. We use a fork to dip let the chocolate run off the tines of the flat fork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I've used this same recipe for over twenty years, and it's by far the best and most reliable. The only things I'd add is to melt a half-stick of paraffin with the chocolate so that the chocolate doesn't scorch as easily and to make the finished product shinier. I also use toothpicks to dip each ball into the chocolate mixture so that the process goes more quickly. When the chocolate dries slightly, I twist and pull the toothpick upward to remove it, then dip a spoon into the chocolate and dab each ball with the spoon. I've seen some people cover the toothpick hole with a pecan (as the photo in the main recipe shows), but sometimes the extra nut detracts from the overall creaminess of the bourbon ball and the chopped walnuts inside each ball provide plenty of a nutty taste. I've packaged these treats in Christmas tins as holiday gifts, and they are ALWAYS a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
These were great. Only thing I did differently was I probably tripled the bourbon b/c I'm from KY and this is how I prefer them. They tasted great, and I brought them to my boyfriends family in Vermont/Northern NY and they loved them as well. I recommend freezing them prior to dipping in chocolate to avoid too much melting. Will be making again next holiday season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Taste was phenomenal, filling was a little hard to work with. I doubled the recipe. For those having a hard time with the butter and sugar, it's just like making a buttercream frosting--make sure your butter is nice and softened, then stir it a bit until it's smooth, then stir in the confectioner's sugar a cup at a time or so. I did it by hand, but a mixer would make it much easier. It was REALLY stiff until I added the bourbon-soaked nuts, at which point it became really soft--to the point that I stirred in a bunch more confectioner's sugar to try to stiffen it up. Didn't work, so I threw the bowl in the freezer for an hour. After that, I was able to shape the filling into balls (working quickly, with well-greased hands, and sticking them back in the freezer the moment I had a tray completed!). Froze for ~15 min, then would take out a tray, dip a few in chocolate, then put the tray back in the freezer for another 15 min when they got too soft. Added a couple Tbls of canola oil to the chocolate to thin it out, but the chocolate coating still ended up being REALLY thick--it kind of overpowered the bourbon flavor. Definitely make the filling balls smaller than you think you need to, though--mine turned out massive after adding the chocolate coating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UDscoobychick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States