Kentucky Bourbon Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
These are FABULOUS and easy to do. After reading the reviews, I followed the recipe but doubled it, and used unsalted butter and a stand mixer. Here’s what I did: Beat butter on high until creamy. Stop mixer, add powered sugar and “stir” to combine. Increase speed to high and beat until it is fine, dry and crumbly (like pie dough before the water). Add the bourbon-infused pecans and stir until mixed (will look like stiff cookie dough). My pecans soaked for 5 days, absorbed most of the bourbon and doubled in size. Chill in fridge for a short while. Form into small balls (1/2” to 5/8” wide made about 65 balls). My palms became sticky but I scraped them clean with a spoon. The balls will also be sticky, so put them in the freezer to harden. After 15-30 min you can quickly roll them again and they will become smooth and round. Keep in freezer until you’re ready to dip them. Melt chocolate (I used unsweetened with short bursts in the microwave, stirring often). Insert toothpick 1/4” into frozen ball and dip part way into the melted chocolate while spooning some over the top. Using the spoon for support, lift the ball and place on waxed paper. Remove toothpick after a few minutes and put in refrigerator. I covered the toothpick hole with a dab of chocolate but next time I’d like to pipe on a holly leaf and red berries. I also used melted white chocolate chips but had to add Paramount Crystals to thin the chocolate. Thank you, I'll make these again !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Flavor is great but I must be doing something wrong because my mixture is so soft that even after sitting in the fridge overnight, I can't get them to form balls. And then the minute I do and dip them in the chocolate they fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
If I could give them six stars I would!! These taste just like the way I get from the local chocolatier . You cant go wrong with these!! Definitely will be making for many years to come !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Kurth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Westwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Excellent Recipe! I grew up eating these in Frankfort Kentucky and these are the real deal. Thanks Ky Piano Teacher!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Astor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
I am a cook, turned holiday baker. An important note for anyone not familiar with making this type of candy (so stating the obvious for you expert candy makers ;) ) the the bourbon creme is easiest blended with your hands. Once you have mixed the nuts in with the very powdery butter/confectioner sugar mixture just start blending with your hands. It forms a nougatvery easily when you do this. This recipe is virtually fool proof and so amazing. Reminds me of my old Kentucky home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
First time I've made bourbon balls...they were great. Still need practice with dipping them in chocolate, but reading some of the reviews was helpful. I'll try freezing them with the toothpicks before dipping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bjoseph

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I made these last year and everyone is already asking for them this year! These are very close to the ones I grew up with in Western KY- no nilla wafers, no karo syrup, just this recipe. It's the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
These are marvelous! I suspect that the folks who've had trouble making the filling have not worked with fondant before thus the directions may be a little too simplistic. I would add "with a mixer, blend the butter and powder sugar. This will produce a lumpy powdery mixture. Then, work this mixture together with your hands, kneading it to a stiff dough-like consistency." It is also important to note that 2 cups of powdered sugar do not equal 16 oz. You must go by weight, which isn't too difficult if you purchase a 2 pound bag of powdered sugar and eyeball it. We made a triple batch of these and the sugar quantity when tripled was still dead on correct. Soaked our coarsely ground nuts for a few days in a mason jar using Maker's Mark, then drained them quickly when adding to the filling. Good bourbon is definitely important! I do not normally enjoy bourbon balls, or bourbon in general for that matter, but these are great! We made them for my father's 70th birthday and he is very pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
I liked the fact there were no vanilla wafers in this recipe. My daughter in law likes amaretto, so I changed the nuts to almonds, the liquor to amaretto, and used white chocolate to roll them in, instead of regular chocolate. They were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Great recipe! I wound up needing more bourbon to soak the chopped nuts, and also added maybe a tablespoon to the mixture after folding in the soaked nuts. Turned out great! I also used toothpicks like others suggested. From a timing perspective - the dipping/coating in chocolate takes me more like 60-90 minutes (in part due to needing to add more chips through the process, waiting for them to melt, etc). I would plan on more like two hours AFTER you've got the mix balled up and chilled. We've made these twice now, and they turned out awesome each time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southgate, Michigan, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States