Kentucky Bourbon Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Made these for some bourbon-loving clients last year and they were a huge hit so I'm doing it again. I added some fresh-squeezed lemon to mine so there was a little tart with the sweet. These should come with an addiction warning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
This is pretty much the same as my old family recipe. We like to use black walnuts. They just seem to go well with the bourbon. I use Makers Mark as well although I have used Wild Turkey, Woodford Reserve and Elijah Craig. Elijah Craig was my five great-grandmother's brother so I guess I have bourbon in my blood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
As an inexperienced candy maker, these were very easy to make. I made a batch without nuts and added the Bourbon to the batter instead of soaking the nuts. I increased the amount of Bourbon by a couple of tablespoons for a slightly stronger Bourbon flavor. The key to successful dipping is to make sure the balls are cold enough (otherwise they start to melt in the chocolate, making it lumpy.) These are absolutely delicious and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
These are the best. Made these and listed in my shop and sold them. I received a review that said these were the best ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I made these for my Kentucky Derby party last week. To say they were declicious is a gross understatement. Guests couldn't stop eating them. I made them too big, but I did get 30. I was nervous about the dipping, but it worked out fine. I had to stop midway and reheat the chocolate (I did this in the microwave) and cool down the balls, but they came out beautifully. I didn't add the extra pecan on top, but they still looked great. A real crowd pleaser!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Needham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I used Maker's Mark bourbon and then dipped the balls in Wilton Red melted candy. I wanted to make them look like they had red wax like the Maker's bottles. Although the Wilton Red is vanilla flavored, they turned out great and added a great suprise in my gift baskets. This is THE recipe to use when making bourbon balls. I also dipped some in chocolate and then dipped the top in the red candy to reflect the red wax on the Maker's bottles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catty

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I don't like bourbon, but everyone who had one, loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Delicious! Turned out perfect the first try and here are a few hints. First, when mixing sugar and butter, pay attention to consistency, you want it to stiffen up easily. If too thin or you add extra bourbon, balance it out with more sugar. Refrigerate the mixture for about 30 minutes, this will help with rolling the balls. Place rolled balls on baking sheet and freeze for 30 min. That's all you need, trust me I did it. I used melting chocolate, which I always prefer when dipping anything to coat in chocolate. To hide the toothpick hole I sprinkled pecan crumbs, very cute and didn't take away from the flavor of the bourbon. Oh, and I used Makers Mark... It is perfect for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmarie617

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
The first time I made these I made them exactly as the recipe calls for. The second time I used pecans and milk chocolate. I think the milk chocolate smoothed out the flavor and made them just right! I live in Kentucky so I believe in using a GOOD Kentucky bourbon to make these!! I actually use Maker's Mark when I make them, in our house there isn't any other bourbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slr814

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States