Kentucky Bourbon Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
This is pretty much the same as my old family recipe. We like to use black walnuts. They just seem to go well with the bourbon. I use Makers Mark as well although I have used Wild Turkey, Woodford Reserve and Elijah Craig. Elijah Craig was my five great-grandmother's brother so I guess I have bourbon in my blood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
As an inexperienced candy maker, these were very easy to make. I made a batch without nuts and added the Bourbon to the batter instead of soaking the nuts. I increased the amount of Bourbon by a couple of tablespoons for a slightly stronger Bourbon flavor. The key to successful dipping is to make sure the balls are cold enough (otherwise they start to melt in the chocolate, making it lumpy.) These are absolutely delicious and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
These are the best. Made these and listed in my shop and sold them. I received a review that said these were the best ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I made these for my Kentucky Derby party last week. To say they were declicious is a gross understatement. Guests couldn't stop eating them. I made them too big, but I did get 30. I was nervous about the dipping, but it worked out fine. I had to stop midway and reheat the chocolate (I did this in the microwave) and cool down the balls, but they came out beautifully. I didn't add the extra pecan on top, but they still looked great. A real crowd pleaser!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Needham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I used Maker's Mark bourbon and then dipped the balls in Wilton Red melted candy. I wanted to make them look like they had red wax like the Maker's bottles. Although the Wilton Red is vanilla flavored, they turned out great and added a great suprise in my gift baskets. This is THE recipe to use when making bourbon balls. I also dipped some in chocolate and then dipped the top in the red candy to reflect the red wax on the Maker's bottles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catty

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I don't like bourbon, but everyone who had one, loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Delicious! Turned out perfect the first try and here are a few hints. First, when mixing sugar and butter, pay attention to consistency, you want it to stiffen up easily. If too thin or you add extra bourbon, balance it out with more sugar. Refrigerate the mixture for about 30 minutes, this will help with rolling the balls. Place rolled balls on baking sheet and freeze for 30 min. That's all you need, trust me I did it. I used melting chocolate, which I always prefer when dipping anything to coat in chocolate. To hide the toothpick hole I sprinkled pecan crumbs, very cute and didn't take away from the flavor of the bourbon. Oh, and I used Makers Mark... It is perfect for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmarie617

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
The first time I made these I made them exactly as the recipe calls for. The second time I used pecans and milk chocolate. I think the milk chocolate smoothed out the flavor and made them just right! I live in Kentucky so I believe in using a GOOD Kentucky bourbon to make these!! I actually use Maker's Mark when I make them, in our house there isn't any other bourbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slr814

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
These are FABULOUS and easy to do. After reading the reviews, I followed the recipe but doubled it, and used unsalted butter and a stand mixer. Here’s what I did: Beat butter on high until creamy. Stop mixer, add powered sugar and “stir” to combine. Increase speed to high and beat until it is fine, dry and crumbly (like pie dough before the water). Add the bourbon-infused pecans and stir until mixed (will look like stiff cookie dough). My pecans soaked for 5 days, absorbed most of the bourbon and doubled in size. Chill in fridge for a short while. Form into small balls (1/2” to 5/8” wide made about 65 balls). My palms became sticky but I scraped them clean with a spoon. The balls will also be sticky, so put them in the freezer to harden. After 15-30 min you can quickly roll them again and they will become smooth and round. Keep in freezer until you’re ready to dip them. Melt chocolate (I used unsweetened with short bursts in the microwave, stirring often). Insert toothpick 1/4” into frozen ball and dip part way into the melted chocolate while spooning some over the top. Using the spoon for support, lift the ball and place on waxed paper. Remove toothpick after a few minutes and put in refrigerator. I covered the toothpick hole with a dab of chocolate but next time I’d like to pipe on a holly leaf and red berries. I also used melted white chocolate chips but had to add Paramount Crystals to thin the chocolate. Thank you, I'll make these again !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States