Kentucky Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
I tried this recipe and found it great! Light, fluffy and best of all good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
Wow! Where I'm from, we'd call these tea biscuits. Regardless of the name, they're yummy! The only change I made to this recipe was to cut out traditional round biscuits rather than leave them in wedges. My hubby loved them, and so did I. They were very light and fluffy. A double batch didn't even last us a day!! This one will go in my recipe binder, it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
This is now my family's favorite biscuit recipe. They came out nice and flaky. I love the fact that it uses real butter as opposed to hydrogenated fats (Crisco) that so many biscuit recipes use. Instead of using 100% all-purpose flour, I used part freshly ground whole wheat flour AND all-purpose flour - (1/2 cup whole wheat 1-1/2 cups white). Next time I will make sure my "dash" of salt is a couple dashes. Thanks so much for posting this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeJewel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
Great flavor and so easy to make. My husband thought they were a little too dense. But if you are looking for a tasty biscuit, this is your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baker, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Klang, Selangor, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
didnt raise as much as I would have liked but tasted really good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Littlesparrow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
I made these biscuits last night to top my beef pot pie. I used half butter and half olive oil (we're health conscious) and ommitted the sugar. Then I dropped the batter by spoonfuls onto the casserole. Baked according to the pot pie's instructions, these came out so delicious and flaky and fluffy! Not at all like the recipe I used previously from the Joy of Cooking book (those were like hard lumps). I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
So easy to make and has a wonderful flavor. I added 2 more dashes of salt on my second batch and that made all the difference. This is a keeper! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gonesouth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rocky Mount, Virginia, USA
Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
These biscuits never fail to come out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
I loved these biscuits. They were very light and fluffy. I doubled the recipe and used half butter and half shortening and they turned out perfect. I also rolled then out and cut with a bisuit cutter, but I put them right next to eachother on the pan. It was only necessary to cook them 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
This is the same Biscuit recipe my Grandmother made when I was growing up. I only changed it a little bit. Instead of butter I used margarine and for the buttermilk (Grandma taught me this one) I used milk with lemon juice. Hers called for sour milk, which is the same as buttermilk or lemon juice, and milk. She called it poorman's buttermilk. She had 6 kids to feed and she went with what was less expensive. She always had the ingredients but not always the buttermilk. This is a fantastic recipe. I thought I had lost it till I found this one thanks for giving it back to me. With my Grandma now 87 she does not remember and no one else bothered to write it down. A must try!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Raegene Mendenhall Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Xenia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 472) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States