Kentucky Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Aside from adding a half teaspoon of salt I prepared these just as the recipe directs, being careful not to overwork the dough. I don't make biscuits often, so I doubt it's my biscuit expertise that produced these soft, tender, light as a feather biscuits. I'm sure the buttermilk has a lot to do with it but obviously so does this recipe. I love biscuits, Hubs could take 'em or leave 'em - but this recipe changed his mind. I think he decided that after he polished off the second one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
These were very good! I would also suggest, as others have, adding a bit more salt. Will use this recipe again, and will also try with different seasoning variations. Thanks! PS-I freeze any leftover buttermilk in ice cube trays and place in a ziplock!! Works perfect so that you don't waste, always have it on hand and can buy it on sale without having to use it right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE just the way they are. I substitute buttermilk for sour milk- 2 tsp. apple cider vinegar + milk to make 3/4c. total.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I almost followed the recipe "to a T," but added a wee bit more salt than just a dash to balance out the sweetness of the dough. It made for some very light and flavorful biscits. I definitely would not substitute "homemade" for the real deal when it comes to using buttermilk. I was questioning the math beforehand about how many biscuits the recipe would make. And I was correct. The recipe, patted into an exact 6x6-inch square made just 4 large (3-inch) biscuits). I used a pizza cutter. I can't imagine the tiny biscuits that cutting the dough into 12 would make. If I could, I would give the recipe a 5-star rating for ease & taste, and just 3 stars for math/# servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Perfect! I feel bad that I no longer use my grandmother's recipe, but that was amazing. They rose so beautiful and so tender. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
My famiily really liked these biscuits. I did add 1 1/2 tsp more baking powder and 1/2 tsp more baking soda. I also added 2 TBSP sugar. The result was that the biscuits came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Tasted great! I would have gave 5 stars but the cooking time is way off, they had to cook for much longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Evans, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
These turned out excellent. I grated the butter and added less sugar because they were being served with gravy. I also kneaded them for less time, about a minute. I think they could be very versatile. I think I'm going to try them with a little extra sugar to go with jam. Very flaky and light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nomijoy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Excellent biscuits!! This is my substitution for buttermilk: 2 heaping tablespoons of greek yogurt plus a splash of vinegar in a cup with enough milk to make the 3/4 cup needed. Works great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 441) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States