Kentucky Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Ruth Morris
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Turned out great! The only change I made was cutting them in a round shape before I baked them. I also let it set for about 10 minutes before I baked them. It lets the baking powder activate more and therefore more rising,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Morris

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Fairmont, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Excellent ! I am from Kentucky, and I make these all the time and have even used regular milk in a pinch! (Not as good as buttermilk but it gets the job done). These are just like my Mother's and Grandmothers and what I grew up with. Some reviewers have mentioned that the middle does not get done, which is probably true if you are following the recipe exactly. I cut them like the recipe says but slightly pull them apart so there is a small space between each of them or if I have time I use my round cookie cutter and cut them out instead. Leaving them clumped together will cause the outer biscuits to get hard and the inner biscuits to still not be done. These are perfect for good old fashioned sausage or bacon gravy which my whole family devours when I make it for Sunday breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Delicious! I used whole wheat flour and used 4 Tbsp. butter and 4 Tbsp Greek yogurt (instead of 8 Tbsp.of butter for a healthier biscuit. I mixed yogurt in buttermilk) Thank-you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
I found these biscuits to be easy and delicious. I used frozen butter and shaved it fairly thin with a knife. It incorporated well with the flour without stickiness. When rolling out the biscuits, I will try to leave more height around the edges, as the center seemed to rise up more and created outter edges that cooked quicker than the center. Recipe made enough for dinner and breakfast the next morning. They were fluffy and soft reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Virginia Shidal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
did not have buttermilk so I had to improvise and do vinegar and milk substitute.was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Didn't have regular milk, just almond milk so I soured some with a little apple cider vinegar (for about 1 hour). Don't really taste any difference (between buttermilk and almond milk), seems a little bland not quite buttery enough. I used unsalted butter but did not include more salt to make up for it. I think that might help the flavor a little bit. This batch will definitely require something accompanying them (strawberry jam and honey tasted great) to make up for the bland flavor. the outside is the perfect crumbly crunch for a biscuit (and is actually pretty tasty) but the inside lacks in flavor. They fluffed up a little bit, not much so don't spread too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
A big key to consistent cooking time for these biscuits is in the kind of pan you use. A dark, cast iron pan is going to bake these up very quickly---whereas a stainless steel jelly roll or clear, glass casserole will bake more slowly. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Finally! I can make a biscuit! I've tried many other recipes, but so far this is the only one that worked for me. Super fluffy, great flavor. The trick is cold butter (not shortening), buttermilk, and don't overwork the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I subbed non-fat Greek yogurt and a splash of skim milk for buttermilk and they turned out great. So easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 465) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States