Kentucky Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2015
These are good, very good; good for butter, honey; not so much for sausage - only because they are soft, fluffy. Soft, fluffy in a good way, just not so easily cut to slide a piece of sausage (or whatever) in. I like the different method of cutting/shaping. These came out lightcolored, but still fully baked. I subbed butterflavor shortening & increased salt to half t. I probably added half cup more (White Lily) flour - including the shelf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2015
Very happy with how they came out and I even used the wrong kind of flour (accidentally). Kids loved them. Will definitely make again. I cut them and made proper biscuits rather than just cutting the loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2015
These were good. The baking powder taste referred to by someone else can be almost eliminated by using aluminum free baking powder. I have noticed a big difference since using it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2015
I had no buttermilk so I found a milk/vinegar recipe for that. Other than actual "buttermilk" I made this recipe exactly as is. They were wonderful! I couldn't believe how delicious, soft and moist they were. Real buttermilk could only make them better and I'm already giving this 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie Leonard-Garcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowell, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
My go to for biscuits! I sometimes need to add just a bit more buttermilk. I find that different brands can be thicker than others so you really need to look for consistency. Only kneed 12 times. I cook mine in a cast iron after cutting with a biscuit cutter. Flaky and perfect everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
Seriously the best biscuits I've ever tasted. the best things about them are the crisp crust on the top and bottom of the biscuit, and the flaky texture. Only things I did differently were...1. I didn't knead the dough, just mixed it with my hands long enough for it to come together. 2. I made sure my butter and buttermilk were icy cold before adding. 3. I put a small pat of butter on top of each biscuit before baking. Amazing!!! Had them with homemade sausage gravy, but can't wait to try them with other things as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
This recipe was easy & delicious. I didn't have any buttermilk so I substituted with a mixture of 3/4 milk & 2 Tbs. white vinegar. Also used spenda in place of sugar. The changes worked out wonderfully & the biscuits turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
This is my favorite 'flat biscuit' recipe. When I want crumbly biscuits I can break up with my fingers for biscuits and gravy, I look elsewhere, but if I want a thinner, sturdier biscuit I can slice in half and coat with butter, jelly, or honey THIS IS IT. I've also used this recipe as a "crust" for biscuit based casseroles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooksfor6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
I have made these two times now. The first time I substituted lard for the butter and acidfied cream for the buttermilk. Both times the biscuits were melt in your mouth delicious. My new standard for biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peter Webb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athabasca, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
I didn't have buttermilk on hand, so I substituted watered down sour cream. I cut in circles and placed close together in cake pan. They were very good - moist, flaky and not too dense. Would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 559) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States