Kentucky Banana Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Great recipe! I only used 3/4 cup of sugar, replaced regular milk with coconut milk, and added a layer of bananas on top of the cookie crust. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Sorry did not work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amwallace
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Made this recipe exactly the way it is other than soaking the bananas in lemon juice for a bit (then draining them) while starting the custard and cooking some of them with the custard as it was thickening. No problem with it thickening at any time as some reviews state. Yummy!! Added some of my son's mini "Nilla wafers" he takes in his lunch as an added touch to the top although a 13X9 pan did not require a 12 oz. box of vanilla wafers for the crust and extra can be added to the top as needed. I have a grandson who will eat the leftovers from the box. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Instead of wafers I used graham crackers. And a layer of bananas on the bottom and on the top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rosalie, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Very creamy . I served this for a Birthday party. They loved it. I took the tip from another and doubled it. It made a 10 inch bowl full. I only had one box of Vanilla wafers and only four large bananas. The bowl couldn't have held any more. Still very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangevale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
We've made it like this for years. The only changes I made were all whole milk, plus a dash of salt (1 tsp for a triple batch). I tempered the eggs to avoid curdling (by that I mean I beat the eggs seperately, then cooked the remaining mixture until hot, then spooned the hot mixture about 3 cups but a cup at a time into the eggs, stirring constantly. Then added the egg mixture to the remaining pudding to keep cooking.) Stirring constantly also prevents sticking. Great! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Goodrich, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
this tasted fantastic except my bananas turned brown from being layered on top. So much for presentation. Also, I made this the night before and would not recommend doing this. I'd say this recipe is for same day serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I love this pudding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I have looked for a Banana Pudding recipe for YEARS and this one is perfect just the way it is!! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Taylor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay Saint Louis, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Waveland, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
First, I doubled the recipe like some reviewers suggested, and it turned out being the perfect amount for my Pyrex triffle dish. Secondly, I decreased the sugar to 3/4 cup like some of the reviewers suggested. Next, I used only 2% milk because I didn't want an aftertaste like some of the reviewers commented and I also wanted to make this pudding 100% from scratch. Note: Dissolve the cornstarch in 1/2 cup of milk first and stir the lumps out. Pour the milk in the saucepan first, then the sugar, and after it dissolves, the egg (before the pan heats too much and creates scrambled eggs), and the cornstarch mixture. I used a stainless steel pot and a whisk. Patience is key because if you take it off of the heat too early, the custard will never thicken. I whisked for a long time and kept pulling the whisk up out of the pan to see if it had cooked; and eventually, there was no more egg white globs, everything was all dissolved and had a common consistency. Following the advice of one of the reviewers, I added the bananas to the hot custard after it thickened. I thought that I could skip the step of slicing and placing the bananas on the cookies, which can be time consuming. But by trying to shortcut, it left the bananas tasting "raw" with a bite. The cookies had softened, but the bananas were now crunchy. How gross. But adding the bananas to the hot custard flavored it so much that the actual bananas weren't necessary. The consistency of the custard was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esha Bell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inglewood, California, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Banana Pudding IV

See how to make a luscious and creamy no-bake dessert!

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States