Kentucky Banana Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Never thickened up. I tried the recipe two times and the second time I added a little more corn starch. I'm heart broken because I really wanted some good banana pudding. I figured anything with Kentucky in the name had to be good :( Maybe I should just call it banana cookie soup because that's what it is. Two dishes of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Pretty good recipe, but it needed some adjustment. Here's what I changed...Too sweet! Used 1/2 cup sugar - 2 egg yolks; used whites for meringue - 3 cups whole milk; no evaporated - 1 tsp. vanilla - 1/2 box Nilla wafers. Perfect amount of ingredients for an 8x8 inch casserole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fab4fan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Delicious! I, too, used sweetened condensed milk as that was what I had, and just cut the sugar in half. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Had the same problem as a couple of other reviewers: pudding wouldn't set. :( But we seem to be in a minority here, so maybe not the fault of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This was absolutely delicious. I have never been fond of banana pudding but my husband likes it and he wanted me to make it for dessert for our New Years day dinner. I doubled the recipe and added a dash of banana flavoring when I added the vanilla. The pudding was so creamy. I will be making this again you can bet. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I can already tell this will be a KEEPER. My beloved husband is quite picky about his banana pudding(s), and I knew right off the bat that this had the flavor and texture he loves. You can't get this in an instant pudding, and honestly-- I never should have gone the "instant" route to begin with! 5 Stars for the Old Kentucky Home Recipe! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Senator
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This was an awesome recipe and very easy to make. It was a hit at the family cookout!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dseafus76

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Yum, Yum. Just like grandma used to make. Following the suggestion of other reviewers, I used cream instead of evaporated milk. I wasn't able to use all the pudding because it had some lumps that I strained out, there is NO way this serves 11. I served it to 4 and there was very little left-just scraped bowls and happy faces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Who knew pudding was so easy to make. This was a bit more custard in texture then I would have liked. Next time, and there will be many, I'll scale back on the cornstarch or not let it heat so much/long. I'd like it a bit more creamy than custard-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This was so good!! My family loved it. This is my new favorite banana pudding recipe. It does not feed as many as it says. I have to double it for my kids and grandkids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Banana Pudding IV

See how to make a luscious and creamy no-bake dessert!

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States