Kentucky Banana Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Great recipe for those of us who like to cook from scratch. I dislike the "chemical" flavor I taste in instant pudding and whipped topping. I whip real cream to top this and for an extra rich flavor add a block of cream cheese to the pudding while you are cooking it. This may need a little thinning with some extra milk, but adds a special tone. My husband, who normally does not eat dessert, requests this often. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
This was good but very very sweet. I have not made it a second time yet, but will cut the sugar when I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leeanna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laurie Graves VanNorman
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Call me sheltered - but I have never made pudding from scratch... this was very good. My husband loved it. Turned out tasty and beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
My doughter and I made the Kentucky banana pudding and we surprised my husband ,who loves pudding .HE loved it ,we loved it and id deffently make it again. The recipe was easy and quick .thanks for sharing .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Great recipe! I only used 3/4 cup of sugar, replaced regular milk with coconut milk, and added a layer of bananas on top of the cookie crust. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Sorry did not work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amwallace
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Made this recipe exactly the way it is other than soaking the bananas in lemon juice for a bit (then draining them) while starting the custard and cooking some of them with the custard as it was thickening. No problem with it thickening at any time as some reviews state. Yummy!! Added some of my son's mini "Nilla wafers" he takes in his lunch as an added touch to the top although a 13X9 pan did not require a 12 oz. box of vanilla wafers for the crust and extra can be added to the top as needed. I have a grandson who will eat the leftovers from the box. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Instead of wafers I used graham crackers. And a layer of bananas on the bottom and on the top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rosalie, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Very creamy . I served this for a Birthday party. They loved it. I took the tip from another and doubled it. It made a 10 inch bowl full. I only had one box of Vanilla wafers and only four large bananas. The bowl couldn't have held any more. Still very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangevale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
We've made it like this for years. The only changes I made were all whole milk, plus a dash of salt (1 tsp for a triple batch). I tempered the eggs to avoid curdling (by that I mean I beat the eggs seperately, then cooked the remaining mixture until hot, then spooned the hot mixture about 3 cups but a cup at a time into the eggs, stirring constantly. Then added the egg mixture to the remaining pudding to keep cooking.) Stirring constantly also prevents sticking. Great! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Goodrich, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Banana Pudding IV

See how to make a luscious and creamy no-bake dessert!

Banana Pudding

See how to make delicious no-bake banana pudding from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States