Ken's Texas Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I hve made lots of chili, but this one is the absolutely best!How can it not be: it's from Texas:))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Lol! "Texas" chili on PASTA!? I've had good chili like this in Maryland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This was okay for homemade chili especially if you need a recipe that is onion, pepper, and tomato free. Way too many beans though. I was really heavy handed in measuring my spices. This was a mild chili and we would eat it again, but it didn't make our favorites list. I didn't have pintos so I used dark kidney beans. For my personal tastes this could have used double the spices. Thanks Ken, your chili was good. We had no leftovers. The Hungry Teen had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Really enjoyed this, I added some tomato paste but otherwise stuck to the recipe and it was good - maybe some more spices? Otherwise very good, simple and quick to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
AWESOME Chili. I changed it up for our tastes, by not adding beans, adding a can of Rotel original, sauteed onions and 1 can of broth. The spice combo is the best I have used so far. Thanks for sharing...its a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I initially made this exactly as per the recipe except that I drained the ground beef completely and added a small can of undrained green chiles along with the pinto beans. This was a very tasty meal served over crushed tortilla chips and with a lettuce salad. When I reheated the leftovers I added a small can of V8 juice (5.5 oz) along with more flour and chili powder and simmered until thick. Served over Brazilian White Rice (recipe from this site) it was a second tasty meal with fried cinnamon apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I made this recipe as directed. I really liked the flavor of this chili and I will be using this chili recipe to put on top of my fry bread for Indian Tacos. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSBHAVENOKIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Harcourt, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
I always thought that texas chili was made w/ beef that had been cubed...not ground beef, also don't seem to recall beans in texas chili. It was a good chili...but not a texas chili
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Did not add the beans, and I used fresh garlic instead of the powder. Also used chicken stock instead of beef, since that's what I had lying around. Added 1 can of tomato sauce. FABOO! I loved it! We topped it with onions and shredded cheddar, and served it over spaghetti. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I have lived in Texas all of my 44 years & don't know how you can make chili without real onions, garlic or without any kind of tomato base. We used tomato sauce in place of 1 can of beef broth. Chopped up a large onion & cooked with ground beef. Used only 1 can of jalapeno pintos & 1 can of regular. Cooked it way longer than the 30 minutes. End result was delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States