Ken's Spicy Curry Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I love thai curries generally and I really didn't like this. I'm not sure why I found it so different from everyone else. I found the fish sauce overpowering - next time I'd use 1/3. I made the recipe exactly as shown - I do that every time I make something first time. The coconut milk was a little too much, but still not enough to drown out the fish sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Needs MUCH less coconut milk. Like add only half
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frankenmuth, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
I halved this recipe and omitted water chestnuts & bamboo shoots because I didn't have any. Used red curry paste and red peppers instead of green. Otherwise followed recipe ingredients and this dish was fabulous. We are Indian curry lovers so this milder version was a nice change. Husband loved it and I will definitely make again. Very easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
This recipe was actually pretty bland, and didn't have any heat which I like in curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
I have not made this recipe yet, but my husband loves panang curry chicken and has been begging me to try out a recipe. Has anyone considered adding lemongrass to this recipe? Our favorite local Thai place uses it in their curries and it gives the dishes that extra zip. Just curious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
7/25/08 juicy; good flavor; best over jasmine rice; use 1 can coconut milk & red curry paste instead of green. See review of 7/28/08
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Ken you're getting a five because I and everyone else really enjoyed this dish. My friend who cooks with coconut milk all the time, told me that 2 tins was far too much and I also left out the chicken broth. The liquid did reduce (it took forever) however, next time I will add the vegetables later as they just turned to mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
Normally for 2 tablespoons of curry paste you would use 1 can of coconutmilk. Kapocha or eggplants (Thai) would be good in a green curry. I prefer pork in green curry. Chicken is great with red or yellow curry paste with potatoes. I have been cooking Thai for 25+ years. I have learned from many in Thailand during my over 30 trips about The Kingdom. BTW fresh water chestnuts are wonderful and sweet normally used in stirfries by Thais. Canned are starchy and not a usual ingredient for a Thai curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
Short review: If you want to make a good curry, consult your curry paste container and see what it has to say. Longer review: Most pastes will say ONE can of coconut milk and ONE can of water. And then you reduce the liquids to a desired thickness. I can't imagine using 2 cans. Also, I've eaten a lot of green curry (it's my favorite) and I have to say I've never seen water chestnuts in any of those recipes. Bamboo shoots are usually in panang or massuman curries. Green curries usually have zucchini/broccoli, onions, carrots, and sometimes snow peas and/or kaffir lime leaves. Personalize it. As another reviewer suggested, cilantro would probably work a lot better than basil and it's usually easier to find in your grocery stores. Finally, if you're using a pre-made paste, you probably don't need fish sauce. That's usually involved in making the curry paste from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
This recipe is too soupy as others have said. Unless it is supposed to be a soup, leave out one can of the coconut milk. Many reviewers say it tastes like it's missing something. It is. The curry powder. We like curry, so we had to add about two tablespoons of the powder, but that should be added with caution to suit your tastes. Don't use dried basil in this. If you can find fresh Thai basil use that. It is what is used in Thai restaurants. It has just a bit of a different taste to it. If not, regular grocery store variety fresh basil is fine. A leaf or two of Kefir Lime also helps. That ingredient is also used in Thai receipes almost without fail. Both the Thai Basil and the Kefir Lime can be found in Asian grocery stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States