Ken's Spicy Curry Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by rocks
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
I thought this was really good. I know it's supposed to be "soupy" but I did add just a little cornstarch (maybe a teaspoon or two) just to thicken it up a little. I poured the curry chicken all over some rice (used the "fried rice with cilantro" recipe that can be found on this site) and let the sauce soak through the rice. So good! Note to curry paste newbies: Either be super careful or have your Ajax or Comet ready because the paste will stain anything it touches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rocks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
I order and eat curry chicken fairly often at many different Thai, Indian, and Malaysian restaurants. Every place I've been does it a little different. I followed this recipe exactly, and was very disappointed with the results. There is definitely something very important missing although I don’t know what it is. It is spicy but lacks flavor. Also the dish comes out much much too soupy, the sauce has the consistency of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
This is a really easy and yummy recipe, but I found it a little lacking in flavor. I added a little extra fish sauce, probably 4 tbl. spoons, and about 3-4 tbl. spoons brown sugar. Alot of Thai recipes are better with brown sugar. I served it over jasmine rice, and everyone loved it, including my two yr. old twins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna&theboys

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
Very very good recipe. Instead of green curry I used Panang curry paste that I bought at the local supermarket. I also made a few changes. I added a small can of pineapples and one zucchuni like the way my local thai restaurant made it. I cut out the waterchestnuts. It was delicious although I think the thai restaurant put in more coconut milk but you can adjust it to your taste. Will definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
Ahhh yeah! Found one that tastes like what the good Thai restaurants serve, and I even forgot to add the mushrooms, and I only had dried basil on hand! Beware of adding extra green curry paste like I did. Serve over white rice like I always do at the restaurant, especially if you think it is "too thin" (don't ruin this good Thai recipe by adding cornstarch). Thanks, Ken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
Really enjoyed. Added some cornstarch to thicken somewhat, as well as some onion, carrot and celery. It was delicious! The fresh basil is very important and next time I will try red curry paste in stead of green for a different taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I don't really know what to make of this. I love Thai food and eat it often, but I've never had anything with water chestnuts or bamboo shoots in it. Also, every time I've had mushrooms in Thai dishes, they have been straw mushrooms; and cilantro - not basil - seems to feature heavily. This was a nice enough meal, but a little bit weird. Btw, I would advise anyone who isn't used to cooking with things like green curry paste and/or fish sauce to add it a little bit at a time - both really are an acquired taste, and you could easily spoil the meal by adding too much at once. (Apologies for the long review).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
We enjoyed this. I took another reviewers advice and put in pineapple which was good addition. It complimented the spicy. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
Definitely a bit spicy, but my gf and I liked it as is. I reduced the coconut milk by 1/2 can and it was just the right amount. We followed the recipe as is except for the fresh basil (and coconut milk) which we didn't have. We used dried and it was a mistake. DEFINITELY use fresh basil. I would make a suggestion of adding another half of a bell pepper, some julian carrots, and another 1/2 cup mushrooms. I think this would make it about perfect. Serve over Jasmine rice for a complete meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
This recipe is awesome, my family loves it!! I love how easy it is, I add about 3 or 4 green chilis and cilantro (the way our fave restaurant does). With or without the additions this dish rocks..Thanks Ken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States