Ken's Spicy Curry Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
Awesome flavor! Used red peppers instead of green to make it look prettier and served over white rice. Next time will add some salt and sugar. This recipe makes a large portion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I don't really know what to make of this. I love Thai food and eat it often, but I've never had anything with water chestnuts or bamboo shoots in it. Also, every time I've had mushrooms in Thai dishes, they have been straw mushrooms; and cilantro - not basil - seems to feature heavily. This was a nice enough meal, but a little bit weird. Btw, I would advise anyone who isn't used to cooking with things like green curry paste and/or fish sauce to add it a little bit at a time - both really are an acquired taste, and you could easily spoil the meal by adding too much at once. (Apologies for the long review).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
Typcial curry dish. Nothing too exciting but good nevertheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I'm pretty sure I used a curry paste that ruined the recipe. For whatever reason, all I could taste was coconut milk and the ingredients - no curry in the sauce, even though I used the correct amount. I'd also cut the coconut milk in half, and added red pepper flakes, but that didn't help. Will not make it again, as I'm not sure what I could do to correct it. It's a mystery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saint Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
This was way, way, way too spicy for me. I can't imagine that any human can eat this. I ended up rinsing everything and recooking it in just plain coconut milk. It was okay in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vladadeska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I have to go with the comment that there is something missing from this recipe that is extremely important. I love green curry and get it when we eat out Thai at many different restaurants. But I could not bring myself to eat more than a few bites of this. It was way too bland. I prepared the recipe exactly as indicated. It smelled WONDERFUL. But the taste was extremely disappointing. It was "spicy hot" enough, but it was lacking something else that I cannot put my finger on. I had to throw it out. I suspect that maybe there is too much fish sauce or something because the blandness had a greasy mouth-feel to it. I'm at a loss to figure out what is not right with this one but I don't want to try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
I made this and it turned out great! I couldn't find curry paste so I used to T of curry powder. I had no idea how much to add. I also added cayanne pepper since the powder wasn't spicy. I will make this again for sure.... do others find the paste in their regular grocery?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
This recipe is excellent. I think the heat in green curry paste must vary by brand. I put a little more than was called for in the recipe and still had only mild heat when it was cooked. Thanks Ken!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rocks
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
I thought this was really good. I know it's supposed to be "soupy" but I did add just a little cornstarch (maybe a teaspoon or two) just to thicken it up a little. I poured the curry chicken all over some rice (used the "fried rice with cilantro" recipe that can be found on this site) and let the sauce soak through the rice. So good! Note to curry paste newbies: Either be super careful or have your Ajax or Comet ready because the paste will stain anything it touches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rocks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
This is a really easy and yummy recipe, but I found it a little lacking in flavor. I added a little extra fish sauce, probably 4 tbl. spoons, and about 3-4 tbl. spoons brown sugar. Alot of Thai recipes are better with brown sugar. I served it over jasmine rice, and everyone loved it, including my two yr. old twins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna&theboys

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States