Ken's Perfect Hard Boiled Egg (And I Mean Perfect) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
PERFECT EGGS! I always have problems peeling eggs, especially fresh ones. I will always use this method to boil my eggs from now on, the shell practically slipped off of the eggs! Just in time for Easter too, I'm so happy, thank you for sharing this Ken! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by What's for dinner, mom?
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Fantastic! So amazingly easy! Thanks for sharing this with everyone. I'm FREE... no more ugly eggs! Yahooo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Although I consider myself an above-average cook, hard boiled eggs had never turned out correctly. Until now! Thanks to Ken's recipe I finally had a hard boiled egg turn out perfect! They peeled cleanly and easily and the yolk was cooked through without turning green around the edges. Follow recipe exactly...it won't disappoint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darla O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This recipe does actually produce "Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs"! My husband loves hard boiled eggs and quite frankly so do I and nothing is more frustrating than something so simple turning out improper or down right ugly when doing deviled eggs or wanting something pretty to garnish a nice salad. I let the eggs come to room temp. to reduce cracking. When adding the eggs to the water I use a slotted spoon and gently place them into the pot this also helps to remove them. These were very easy to peel and the yolk has a nice rich yellow color. Thanks Ken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
447 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Adding the vinegar with salt and water definitely made peeling the egg the easiest ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffini_A

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Salt just increases the boiling point of the water, it doesn't actually do anything to make the eggs easier to peel. Vinegar is not necessary, the real trick here is submerging the eggs in the ice water after removing them from the boiling water. I do the exact same thing with just plain water, and they are perfect! Save your vinegar, the ice is the magic ingredient here ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
418 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I followed the directions exactly and found the eggs very difficult to peel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
IT WORKS Tried this recipe and no problems. Tried the plain water method and had problems peeling the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Kansas, USA
Living In: Florissant, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Brilliant, Ken! I've always used salt (supposed to prevent the contents leaking out) but the vinegar is news, and it works! 14 minutes is a bit long, I think; 10 minutes total boiling time will produce a less rubbery white and a creamy yolk, if you plunge the eggs into cold water immediately. Also crack the shells immediately after putting the eggs in cold water. This will allow the gas to escape which turns the yolk blue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
255 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Followed instructions to a T and the result was PERFECT hard boiled eggs!!!! I have tried so many other methods but this one truely works. These also peeled extremely easy! Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaraJ23

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 641) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ken's Perfect Hard Boiled Egg

A foolproof method for perfect hard boiled eggs, every time.

How to Make Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs

Discover the secret to perfect hard boiled eggs.

How to Make Perfect Poached Eggs

See a great technique for poaching eggs quickly and easily.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States