Ken's Perfect Hard Boiled Egg (And I Mean Perfect) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I'm in my sixties and have been boiling eggs for years. But I'm always game for anything new and better. I tripled the recipe for 2 dozen (room temp.) eggs. Used a big soup ladle to lower 2 at a time into the boiling water. Did everything as directed and my eggs came out perfect. To save on dishes, I carefully poured out the boiled water until most of it was gone, then immediately ran COLD faucet water over the eggs. Then I added a lot of ice cubes and let it sit. After 20 minutes, I peeled about 12 eggs and EVERY one of them peeled perfect. And these were very fresh eggs to begin with. With so many fresh eggs at Eastertime, it becomes almost impossible not to have batches that just won't peel (even for the pros). I've always done the shocking with cold water and ice and it didn't always work. THIS DID! I don't feel I need this method for year round since I usually don't boil fresh eggs. But it certainly is GREAT for big batches and when using FRESH eggs. Great job Ken, I'm converted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Really works. No sticking to the shell while peeling. Produces a nice, creamy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This works! Followed exactly as written. I will be making my eggs this way from now on! Peeling eggs is not a chore now:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Perfect every-time! And I never do anything the way I'm supposed to....I used 6-8 eggs, put them in a pot added enough water to cover them, added whatever vinegar I had left in the 16 0z botttle..about a 1/2 inch from the bottom of the bottle...added some salt...just opened the container and poured a little in, I guess about a tablespoon or so. Then I forgot to time it...asked myself, "How long have these been on?" Answered myself (lol) "about 4 minutes or so"...so I gave them ten minutes on the timer , took them out- never bothering to check for doneness, ran them under cool water and left them in a container of cool water for probably 15 minutes- give or take a few. They peeled easily and were cooked exactly the ways Ken's picture shows....I couldn't mess them up - even with all of my carelessness. Thanks Ken! I have used your method several times- Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Thank you, Ken! I have chickens and it is impossible to peel the shell off of a FRESH egg that I hard boil....until now! Of course, I haven't tried it with JUST LAYED EGGS, yet...but I will. Another hint, that a friend told me (before this recipe) is to hard boil the eggs. Cut the shells and egg with a knife, in half, and use a spoon to scoop out the egg. It does work 90% of the time but this, so far, has worked alot better!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
The correct time for hard boiled egg is 8 minutes starting with cold water place eggs pot in on a high heat and remove them 8 minutes later and run under really cold water to stop the cooking process... The reason for your eggs bot peeling correctly is because the eggs have been over cooked...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I followed this recipe to the letter and made sure the eggs were room temperature before adding them to the boiling water. No eggs exploded. Eggs peeled beautifully both immediately after cooling in ice water and after sitting in the fridge overnight. I am very pleased with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Just tried this, and it worked like a CHARM! I'll never have to throw away another hard-boiled egg because it won't peel. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Oh. My. Goodness. This worked like a dream! And I used eight brand new eggs. I followed the recipe to a "T" and have no complaints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Works perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 585) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs

Discover the secret to perfect hard boiled eggs.

How to Make Perfect Poached Eggs

See a great technique for poaching eggs quickly and easily.

Scrambled Eggs Done Right

See how to make perfect fluffy scrambled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States