Ken's Perfect Hard Boiled Egg (And I Mean Perfect) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Ken, with 40+ yrs of cooking and many first time failed attempts, this 'first' a-b-s-o-l-u-t-e-l-y worked for me . I halved the amount for 4 eggs, allowed them to come to room temp. Had one egg(slightly) crack, though did not result with egg whites floating about. Timed them at 15 minutes, shells easily came off, cooked through and no ring bling. The next time I can't sleep, kitchen and fame, here I come. lol Thx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueJean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
The recipe is for room temperature large eggs. Yolks are creamy with no grey or green rings. Whites are silky and firm, not rubbery. Perfect is the right word, Ken. Thanks! Update: I used room temp. eggs this time and one still broke. Eggs are cooked perfectly and easy-peel, but I've NEVER broken an egg with my old tried and true method. Sorry, I had to remove a star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SherryL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Wow I never thought it was possible! Have tried so many things over the years and now I have prefect hard boiled eggs in front of me. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Tonight was my first time making hard boiled eggs! I avoided this recipe due to the stench of sulfur hard boiled eggs can produce. I didn't measure anything, just boiled water and added some vinegar and salt to the mix. I didn't have any ice so I just added the eggs to a bowl of cold water and they came out perfectly! I ended up making deviled eggs, that's how fresh the yolks were! Also happy to report that there was no stinky smell!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Eggs turn out perfect every time. No need to search for another recipe or method. This one is most definitely perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristina Gonzalez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This recipe makes perfect boiled eggs. No green edges on the yolks and very easy to peel, thank you for posting this'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
My eggs were raw after 14 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
A+++ I was finally able to hard boil eggs! Thanks, Ken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
OMG, holy cow, seriously - worked exactly as Ken said it would. Velvety yoke, almost peeled itself. Everyone should be taught to boil eggs this way. Thanks Ken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
I'm giving the recipe 3 stars rather than 5 simply because this recipe is more complicated than it needs to be. Neither salt,nor vinegar makes eggs easier to peel. Adding either is not needed. Salt raises the boiling point of water which is useless for boiled eggs. Vinegar will help the insides of CRACKED eggs from leaking out; but if the eggs aren't cracked then the vinegar is useless. If you do add vinegar and have eggs crack, the cracked eggs will have a vinegar taste to them. As for the cooking instructions, I dont agree. The recipe states to 'boil gently'. Well, boiling is what causes eggs to crack, even a 'gentle' boil will cause the eggs to move enough to tap one another and cracking occurs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 582) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs

Discover the secret to perfect hard boiled eggs.

How to Make Perfect Poached Eggs

See a great technique for poaching eggs quickly and easily.

Scrambled Eggs Done Right

See how to make perfect fluffy scrambled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States