Ken's Perfect Hard Boiled Egg (And I Mean Perfect) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Wow! I've been cooking for over 50 years and finally today I made perfect boiled eggs for deviling. Have tried everything anybody told me from poking holes in the ends with a needle/fingers to vinegar in the water to standing on my head. This recipe really works. My eggs were extra large so I boiled them the full 15 minutes but a couple extra minutes would have been better. I would have had soft-boiled if I had taken the advise of one reviewer and only boiled for 10 minutes. Like most of the other reviewers I recommend following the recipe exactly. Thanks Ken...wish I had discovered this recipe years ago. Who knew you would need a recipe for boiled eggs...ha ha!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Sebastian, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Photo by What's for dinner, mom?
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Fantastic! So amazingly easy! Thanks for sharing this with everyone. I'm FREE... no more ugly eggs! Yahooo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I had brandy new eggs which are always a royal pain to peel and this method worked beautifully! No chipping, no sticking and no taking half the egg white off either. Thanks Ken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
PERFECT EGGS! I always have problems peeling eggs, especially fresh ones. I will always use this method to boil my eggs from now on, the shell practically slipped off of the eggs! Just in time for Easter too, I'm so happy, thank you for sharing this Ken! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Mrs.Williams
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
These really turned out great. I don't think I've ever in my life made hard boiled eggs that have turned out this perfect...thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Followed instructions to a T and the result was PERFECT hard boiled eggs!!!! I have tried so many other methods but this one truely works. These also peeled extremely easy! Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaraJ23

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Perfect is an understatment ~ the whites are tender, the yolk is a creamy butter consistency with no greenish discoloration it's the outside. Peeling is a breeze; This has been my biggest challenge since moving to Colorado where due to elevation (7800 ft) water boils at a lower temperature. I could get the yolks the right color, but the shells REFUSED to peel and often I lose most of the white in the process. I am convince the white vinegar is the magic ingredient (without any alteration of taste and ice bath to finish. Note, my only change due to lower boiling temp was to add 3 minutes to the cooking process. My gratitude to Ken for his late night research and phenomenal recipe. Easter will be a joy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Monument, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
yes, it really does work like a charm. i can now make a hardboiled egg that doesn't end up looking like a cratered rock. thanks ken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa r

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Lives up to the hype! Followed exactly and it resulted in pefectly peeled eggs. I will not be afraid to make deviled eggs for parties now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 584) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs

Discover the secret to perfect hard boiled eggs.

How to Make Perfect Poached Eggs

See a great technique for poaching eggs quickly and easily.

Scrambled Eggs Done Right

See how to make perfect fluffy scrambled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States